Mono vs. stereo

Discussion forum for Amadeus users

Moderator: Martin Hairer

Post Reply
rfwilmut
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 1:19 pm

Post by rfwilmut »

There is no point whatever in turning this into a stereo file: it will have no effect at all on the quality and will simply double the file size.

User avatar
Martin Hairer
Site Admin
Posts: 1832
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:49 am
Contact:

Mono vs. stereo

Post by Martin Hairer »

Yes, that's right. If the signal is the same on the two channels, but the noise is different (i.e. if the tape is actually a stereo tape, but with a mono recording on it), then you might even improve the quality slightly by converting from stereo down to mono, due to cancellations between the noises. Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

CDJonah_alt
Posts: 379
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 3:57 pm

Mono vs. stereo

Post by CDJonah_alt »

Are you sure they are identical? You can check by using the stereo
utilities to invert one track and then convert to mono. If they are
identical, you will get a straight line.

Chuck

On 1/21/13 9:20 AM, Cherrill Heaton wrote:
There is no point whatever in turning this into a stereo file: it
will have no effect at all on the quality and will simply double the
file size.
Is the reverse also true? Can a stereo file for which both channels
are identical be converted to mono with no effect on quality and a
halving of file size?

Using Sound>Record to new document...I have been transferring tapes
into Amadeus Pro from a cassette deck. Don't know if this is the
default, but I see that the Quality>Configuration I have been using is
Stereo (front). If the content of the two tape channels is identical,
can I convert the Amadeus stereo files derived from these tapes to
mono without affecting quality?

For such tapes, should I perhaps be using a Quality>Configuration of
Mono (front)? Thanks.

Cherrill
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at
http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
--
Charles D Jonah
Building 200
Chemical Sciences and Engineering Division
9700 S. Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL 60439
630-252-3471 CDJonah@anl.gov

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

User avatar
Jim Edgar
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:20 am
Contact:

Mono vs. stereo

Post by Jim Edgar »

In the olden days, we used to create fake stereo by running a slight delay between the channels. 

You could run it through a stereo panned delay or reverb to give it more depth and space.  

But, those are mostly aesthetic choices. 

--
Jim Edgar

jimedgarvoices@gmail.com (jimedgarvoices@gmail.com)
http://www.jimedgarvoices.com

CDJonah_alt
Posts: 379
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 3:57 pm

Mono vs. stereo

Post by CDJonah_alt »

Note, for default settings, one gets the same size file for a mono and a
stereo file if it is saved as an mp3 in AP 1 -- don't know about 2 yet
as this computer is too old for that.

Chuck

On 1/21/13 9:20 AM, Cherrill Heaton wrote:
There is no point whatever in turning this into a stereo file: it
will have no effect at all on the quality and will simply double the
file size.
Is the reverse also true? Can a stereo file for which both channels
are identical be converted to mono with no effect on quality and a
halving of file size?

Using Sound>Record to new document...I have been transferring tapes
into Amadeus Pro from a cassette deck. Don't know if this is the
default, but I see that the Quality>Configuration I have been using is
Stereo (front). If the content of the two tape channels is identical,
can I convert the Amadeus stereo files derived from these tapes to
mono without affecting quality?

For such tapes, should I perhaps be using a Quality>Configuration of
Mono (front)? Thanks.

Cherrill
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at
http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
--
Charles D Jonah
Building 200
Chemical Sciences and Engineering Division
9700 S. Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL 60439
630-252-3471 CDJonah@anl.gov

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

pm@philxmilstein.com
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 6:55 pm

Mono vs. stereo

Post by pm@philxmilstein.com »

Yes, but as I understand it when compressing a mono file to MP3 you can do
so at half the bitrate (vs. a stereo file) without any loss of data.

I can't swear that that's absolutely true, but the person who told it to me
is fairly expert on such matters, and so I've taken his word for it. I've
been working that way for years, and if there is any loss I've certainly
never noticed it.

--Phil M.


Charles Jonah wrote:
Note, for default settings, one gets the same size file for a mono and a
stereo file if it is saved as an mp3 in AP 1 -- don't know about 2 yet
as this computer is too old for that.

Chuck

On 1/21/13 9:20 AM, Cherrill Heaton wrote:
There is no point whatever in turning this into a stereo file: it
will have no effect at all on the quality and will simply double the
file size.
Is the reverse also true? Can a stereo file for which both channels
are identical be converted to mono with no effect on quality and a
halving of file size?

Using Sound>Record to new document...I have been transferring tapes
into Amadeus Pro from a cassette deck. Don't know if this is the
default, but I see that the Quality>Configuration I have been using is
Stereo (front). If the content of the two tape channels is identical,
can I convert the Amadeus stereo files derived from these tapes to
mono without affecting quality?

For such tapes, should I perhaps be using a Quality>Configuration of
Mono (front)? Thanks.

Cherrill
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at
http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

CDJonah
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 12:10 am

Mono vs. stereo

Post by CDJonah »

Of course -- when we select mp3 we define the bitrate we want to use so
we get the same bitrate independent of the number of tracks.

I think I am a little(?) slow today (maybe everyday).

Chuck

On 1/21/13 1:32 PM, Phil X Milstein wrote:
Yes, but as I understand it when compressing a mono file to MP3 you can do
so at half the bitrate (vs. a stereo file) without any loss of data.

I can't swear that that's absolutely true, but the person who told it to me
is fairly expert on such matters, and so I've taken his word for it. I've
been working that way for years, and if there is any loss I've certainly
never noticed it.

--Phil M.


Charles Jonah wrote:
Note, for default settings, one gets the same size file for a mono and a
stereo file if it is saved as an mp3 in AP 1 -- don't know about 2 yet
as this computer is too old for that.

Chuck

On 1/21/13 9:20 AM, Cherrill Heaton wrote:
There is no point whatever in turning this into a stereo file: it
will have no effect at all on the quality and will simply double the
file size.
Is the reverse also true? Can a stereo file for which both channels
are identical be converted to mono with no effect on quality and a
halving of file size?

Using Sound>Record to new document...I have been transferring tapes
into Amadeus Pro from a cassette deck. Don't know if this is the
default, but I see that the Quality>Configuration I have been using is
Stereo (front). If the content of the two tape channels is identical,
can I convert the Amadeus stereo files derived from these tapes to
mono without affecting quality?

For such tapes, should I perhaps be using a Quality>Configuration of
Mono (front)? Thanks.

Cherrill
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at
http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

User avatar
Martin Hairer
Site Admin
Posts: 1832
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:49 am
Contact:

Mono vs. stereo

Post by Martin Hairer »

Yes, but as I understand it when compressing a mono file to MP3 you can do
so at half the bitrate (vs. a stereo file) without any loss of data.
I think this is basically true, but only if the two channels are absolutely identical (i.e. the same noise as well, not just the same signal) and you make sure to have "joint stereo" enabled for the encoder. Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

Post Reply