Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Sonogram misbehavior on OS X 10.13.6, AP 2.6.1

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GregDunn



Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 7:46 pm    Post subject: Sonogram misbehavior on OS X 10.13.6, AP 2.6.1 Reply with quote

I was trying to see what the spectrum vs. time looked like on a few AAC encoded audio files today, and got some unexpected behavior from Amadeus Pro.

1) Opened AAC file (encoded by iTunes or by AP, no difference)
2) selected time range (about 20 sec. worth)
3) chose "Analyze->Sonogram"

First of all, this is a file with 44 KHz sample rate, and AP only shows spectrum up to 11 kHz. Second, when I resized the window and realized that the spectrum only displayed up to 11k, I thought maybe clicking the "play" icon on the spectrum window might cause it to refresh.

What happens is that the sample selection plays, but (a) can't be stopped by clicking the "stop" icon, (b) hangs AP with the beachball cursor. The sample completes playing but the UI remains unresponsive. I was only able to exit via Force Quit.

Maybe I'm doing something incorrectly, but I was able to replicate this behavior several times. The only unusual add-on I'm running in the OS is Default Folder X.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dan Eickmeier via foru...
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 8:54 pm    Post subject: Sonogram misbehavior on OS X 10.13.6, AP 2.6.1 Reply with quote

I can confirm this. I’m on Mojave here, 10.14, all the way updated to 10.14.6. AP totally hangs, when trying to stop playback in that sonogram window. I don’t have anything like default folder installed here.

Quote:
On Aug 13, 2019, at 4:46 PM, GregDunn <forum2mail@hairersoft.com> wrote:

I was trying to see what the spectrum vs. time looked like on a few AAC encoded audio files today, and got some unexpected behavior from Amadeus Pro.

1) Opened AAC file (encoded by iTunes or by AP, no difference)
2) selected time range (about 20 sec. worth)
3) chose "Analyze->Sonogram"

First of all, this is a file with 44 KHz sample rate, and AP only shows spectrum up to 11 kHz. Second, when I resized the window and realized that the spectrum only displayed up to 11k, I thought maybe clicking the "play" icon on the spectrum window might cause it to refresh.

What happens is that the sample selection plays, but (a) can't be stopped by clicking the "stop" icon, (b) hangs AP with the beachball cursor. The sample completes playing but the UI remains unresponsive. I was only able to exit via Force Quit.

Maybe I'm doing something incorrectly, but I was able to replicate this behavior several times. The only unusual add-on I'm running in the OS is Default Folder X.



Back to top
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1739

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 8:57 pm    Post subject: Sonogram misbehavior on OS X 10.13.6, AP 2.6.1 Reply with quote

Dear Greg,

Quote:
First of all, this is a file with 44 KHz sample rate, and AP only shows spectrum up to 11 kHz. Second, when I resized the window and realized that the spectrum only displayed up to 11k,

The maximal frequency can be set by clicking on the "gears" icon in the toolbar. By default it's half the actual maximum simply because there's rarely anything visibly interesting going on above 11k.

Quote:
I thought maybe clicking the "play" icon on the spectrum window might cause it to refresh.

This is indeed a bug, the version at http://www.hairersoft.com/Downloads/AmadeusPro.zip should fix it. Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
GregDunn



Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2019 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow - I get busy, come back and it's fixed already! Many thanks. It works fine now and I feel silly for not having seen the options menu on the spectrum windows. Sad Once again, the only audio tool I ever need.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group