Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

iPod classic bitrate limit

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
broz



Joined: 08 Dec 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 1:36 am    Post subject: iPod classic bitrate limit Reply with quote

I'm using Amadeus Pro 2.3.3 on a MacBook Pro running Leopard 10.5.5. I use it to record vinyl, mostly. I want to bring my music to iPod classic, and I've done that thru a CD burn. I'd like to avoid that step, and just go straight to iTunes, and sync with the iPod.
Every thing I try, fails. I "Split according to markers..." and pick just about any of the formats and bit rates. Just about any of those move to iTunes just fine. when I try to sync with my iPod Classic, iTunes complains that the iPod doesn't support that bit rate (320k/bps). What? It does so. It says so in the specs.
http://www.apple.com/ipodclassic/specs.html
says "AAC (16 to 320 Kbps), Protected AAC (from iTunes Store), MP3 (16 to 320 Kbps), MP3 VBR, Audible (formats 2, 3, and 4), Apple Lossless, WAV, and AIFF"
I try splitting the tracks with AAC with that bit rate. No go. It puts up an alert saying that the bitrate is not supported on this iPod. Wav. No go. AIFF. No go. Apple Lossless (can't set rate). No go.
If I rip from a CD, it all just works.
Rather that conclude that the iPod is defective, I think my brain is missing something.
Can anyone tell me, so I can tell my brain, what key point it's missing?
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
broz



Joined: 08 Dec 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 1:37 am    Post subject: that's Amadeus Pro 1.3.3 Reply with quote

can't type tonight...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
broz



Joined: 08 Dec 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 2:03 am    Post subject: Solved Reply with quote

I was foolishly confusing bitrate with sample rate. My sample rate for recording was 96,000 hz. That's too high for the iPod.
Is there someplace in AP to set that? I know you can set it for each recording, but there could be a place to set it by default.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group