Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Selecting audio with the keyboard in Amadeus?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ssawczyn



Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 22
Location: Augusta, ME USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2008 7:04 pm    Post subject: Selecting audio with the keyboard in Amadeus? Reply with quote

Hi, great to meet another voiceOver user. Selecting audio with the
keyboard is doable, but kind of tricky. Here's how I do it, if
someone has a better suggestion, definitely I'm open to it.

First, play the file and using the left and right arrow keys, get to
the beginning of the segment you'd like to select. Now, unless you're
quick, hit space to pause the file. From here, you have a few
options.. Before describing the options, let me explain that you have
essentially two cursors, a playhead and an insertion point, or editing
cursor. Sadly, these two cursors are never in sync -- would make a
great toggle though *hint hint hint*. Anyway, move the insertion
pointer to the playhead using cmd-y. Now, you can select by pressing
shft-right arrow which will move the insertion pointer to the right
selecting audio depending on your zoom settings. For longer segments,
this is an unbelievable pain, however, and hence the second option
which I'm more prone to use. Rather than routing the insertion
pointer to the playhead, hit the letter p which drops a marker at the
playhead. Then continue playing, if you're quick with the p you
could have avoiding pausing the file in the first place, until you
get to the end of the segment. Press space to pause. Now route the
insertion pointer, cmd-y. Now, press cmd-left arrow which selects
from the insertion pointer's current position to the previous marker,
the p that you hit at the beginning of the segment. Kind of a
backwards way to do things, selecting from end to beginning, but for
longer segments, it's easier than dealing with the shft-right arrow
selection process...
One other thing worth noting is that if you've made your selection and
you're just a tiny bit off, you can use a s d and f to fine tune your
selection -- a moves the left hand outwards, s moves the left hand
inwards, d moves the right hand inwards and f moves the right hand
outwords i.e. s and d move toward the center and a and f move the ends
away from one another.

I really wish selecting were easier with Amadeus, having formerly used
Goldwave under Windows, I was spoiled by being able to use [ and ] to
quickly select a segment while playing. In the case of Goldwave, it
would pause the file after hitting the ] to end selection. I found
this worked fantastic especially when selecting larger pieces of audio.

Anyway, I hope this helps, but if it's all confusing, let me know and
I can clarify further. I've been meaning to create a podcast demoing
this selection process, but haven't done it yet.

Steve

On Nov 25, 2008, at 12:26 PM, Dan Eickmeier wrote:

Hi, I'm a voiceover user, and I can't quite figure out how to go about
selecting audio using the keyboard?
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
CDJonah_alt



Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2008 7:24 pm    Post subject: Selecting audio with the keyboard in Amadeus? Reply with quote

If one could place a marker during playback the same way one does while
recording, one would be able to do what one wants.

Chuck

Steven M. Sawczyn wrote:
Quote:
Hi, great to meet another voiceOver user. Selecting audio with the
keyboard is doable, but kind of tricky. Here's how I do it, if
someone has a better suggestion, definitely I'm open to it.

First, play the file and using the left and right arrow keys, get to
the beginning of the segment you'd like to select. Now, unless you're
quick, hit space to pause the file. From here, you have a few
options.. Before describing the options, let me explain that you have
essentially two cursors, a playhead and an insertion point, or editing
cursor. Sadly, these two cursors are never in sync -- would make a
great toggle though *hint hint hint*. Anyway, move the insertion
pointer to the playhead using cmd-y. Now, you can select by pressing
shft-right arrow which will move the insertion pointer to the right
selecting audio depending on your zoom settings. For longer segments,
this is an unbelievable pain, however, and hence the second option
which I'm more prone to use. Rather than routing the insertion
pointer to the playhead, hit the letter p which drops a marker at the
playhead. Then continue playing, if you're quick with the p you
could have avoiding pausing the file in the first place, until you
get to the end of the segment. Press space to pause. Now route the
insertion pointer, cmd-y. Now, press cmd-left arrow which selects
from the insertion pointer's current position to the previous marker,
the p that you hit at the beginning of the segment. Kind of a
backwards way to do things, selecting from end to beginning, but for
longer segments, it's easier than dealing with the shft-right arrow
selection process...
One other thing worth noting is that if you've made your selection and
you're just a tiny bit off, you can use a s d and f to fine tune your
selection -- a moves the left hand outwards, s moves the left hand
inwards, d moves the right hand inwards and f moves the right hand
outwords i.e. s and d move toward the center and a and f move the ends
away from one another.

I really wish selecting were easier with Amadeus, having formerly used
Goldwave under Windows, I was spoiled by being able to use [ and ] to
quickly select a segment while playing. In the case of Goldwave, it
would pause the file after hitting the ] to end selection. I found
this worked fantastic especially when selecting larger pieces of audio.

Anyway, I hope this helps, but if it's all confusing, let me know and
I can clarify further. I've been meaning to create a podcast demoing
this selection process, but haven't done it yet.

Steve

On Nov 25, 2008, at 12:26 PM, Dan Eickmeier wrote:

Hi, I'm a voiceover user, and I can't quite figure out how to go about
selecting audio using the keyboard?
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at
http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

------------------------------------------------------------------------

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2008 9:11 pm    Post subject: Selecting audio with the keyboard in Amadeus? Reply with quote

Quote:
If one could place a marker during playback the same way one does
while recording, one would be able to do what one wants.

Hit 'p' Wink Cheers,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
CDJonah_alt



Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2008 11:27 pm    Post subject: Selecting audio with the keyboard in Amadeus? Reply with quote

yes -- then click between them and select to previous and next marker.

Chuck

Dan Eickmeier wrote:
Quote:
So do I do that at the beginning and end of my selection?
On Nov 25, 2008, at 4:05 PM, Martin Hairer wrote:

Quote:
Quote:
If one could place a marker during playback the same way one does
while recording, one would be able to do what one wants.

Hit 'p' Wink Cheers,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at
http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at
http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ssawczyn



Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 22
Location: Augusta, ME USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2008 11:59 pm    Post subject: Selecting audio with the keyboard in Amadeus? Reply with quote

Unfortunately, with VoiceOver, it's not possible to click within the
wave form. Best you can do is mark the beginning of your selection
with p. Then pause the file at the end of the selection, cmd-y to
move the insertion pointer to the playhead and cmd-left arrow to
select back to the marker. If you hit p at the beginning and end of a
selection, you'll merely have set two markers, but doing so won't
select the sound between them.

HTH,

Steve

On Nov 25, 2008, at 6:27 PM, Charles Jonah wrote:

yes -- then click between them and select to previous and next marker.

Chuck

Dan Eickmeier wrote:
Quote:
So do I do that at the beginning and end of my selection?
On Nov 25, 2008, at 4:05 PM, Martin Hairer wrote:

Quote:
Quote:
If one could place a marker during playback the same way one does
while recording, one would be able to do what one wants.

Hit 'p' Wink Cheers,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
ssawczyn



Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 22
Location: Augusta, ME USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2008 3:31 pm    Post subject: Selecting audio with the keyboard in Amadeus? Reply with quote

Actually, it doesn't matter anymore if cursor tracking is on, or off.
If you interact with the zoom slider, or the name fields for tracks,
you can get the keyboard focus back on the wave form by simply
pressing the escape key. I haven't seen this feature documented, but
for us VoiceOver users, it's a godsend as without it and no other way
to click on the form, the only solution has been to save, quit and
relaunch. so to summarize, leave cursor tracking on, but if you find
that after interacting with a field you're unable to use Amadeus
keyboard shortcuts, simply press escape and you're all set.

Glad to hear you'll be using Amadeus to edit ACB radio stuff, it's
great to see the Mac catching on as a viable solution for us blind
folks.

Steve

On Nov 26, 2008, at 1:20 AM, Dan Eickmeier wrote:

And what about curser tracking in VoiceOver? WOuld it be best to have
it off when working in Amadeus?

On Nov 26, 2008, at 1:15 AM, Dan Eickmeier wrote:

Quote:
Thanks for the detailed explanation Steve, when you do put
together that podcast, definitely let me know. Needed that
information, since I'm doing editing work for one of the programs on
the Main Stream side of ACB Radio, and I want to get away from
windows,and do it on the mac if I possibly can.
On Nov 25, 2008, at 2:24 PM, Charles Jonah wrote:

Quote:
If one could place a marker during playback the same way one does
while recording, one would be able to do what one wants.

Chuck

Steven M. Sawczyn wrote:
Quote:
Hi, great to meet another voiceOver user. Selecting audio with
the keyboard is doable, but kind of tricky. Here's how I do it,
if someone has a better suggestion, definitely I'm open to it.

First, play the file and using the left and right arrow keys, get
to the beginning of the segment you'd like to select. Now, unless
you're quick, hit space to pause the file. From here, you have a
few options.. Before describing the options, let me explain that
you have essentially two cursors, a playhead and an insertion
point, or editing cursor. Sadly, these two cursors are never in
sync -- would make a great toggle though *hint hint hint*.
Anyway, move the insertion pointer to the playhead using cmd-y.
Now, you can select by pressing shft-right arrow which will move
the insertion pointer to the right selecting audio depending on
your zoom settings. For longer segments, this is an unbelievable
pain, however, and hence the second option which I'm more prone to
use. Rather than routing the insertion pointer to the playhead,
hit the letter p which drops a marker at the playhead. Then
continue playing, if you're quick with the p you could have
avoiding pausing the file in the first place, until you get to the
end of the segment. Press space to pause. Now route the
insertion pointer, cmd-y. Now, press cmd-left arrow which selects
from the insertion pointer's current position to the previous
marker, the p that you hit at the beginning of the segment. Kind
of a backwards way to do things, selecting from end to beginning,
but for longer segments, it's easier than dealing with the shft-
right arrow selection process...
One other thing worth noting is that if you've made your selection
and you're just a tiny bit off, you can use a s d and f to fine
tune your selection -- a moves the left hand outwards, s moves the
left hand inwards, d moves the right hand inwards and f moves the
right hand outwords i.e. s and d move toward the center and a and
f move the ends away from one another.

I really wish selecting were easier with Amadeus, having formerly
used Goldwave under Windows, I was spoiled by being able to use
[ and ] to quickly select a segment while playing. In the case of
Goldwave, it would pause the file after hitting the ] to end
selection. I found this worked fantastic especially when
selecting larger pieces of audio.

Anyway, I hope this helps, but if it's all confusing, let me know
and I can clarify further. I've been meaning to create a podcast
demoing this selection process, but haven't done it yet.

Steve

On Nov 25, 2008, at 12:26 PM, Dan Eickmeier wrote:

Hi, I'm a voiceover user, and I can't quite figure out how to go
about selecting audio using the keyboard?
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

------------------------------------------------------------------------

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group