mp3 compatibility with Audition

Discussion forum for Amadeus users

Moderator: Martin Hairer

Post Reply
zamboknee
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 5:42 pm

mp3 compatibility with Audition

Post by zamboknee »

I use Amadeus Pro on my laptop and Adobe Audition 1.5 (sigh) on my work computer.
When I try to save mp3 to open in Audition it never works out.
I think it's the codec. Amadeus uses AAC codec and Audition uses mpeg 1 layer III.
Any tips on how to export/save to mp3 in Amadeus so that it'll open in Audition?
Thanks,

User avatar
Jim Edgar
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:20 am
Contact:

mp3 compatibility with Audition

Post by Jim Edgar »

Wow, it's been a long time since I've seen AA 1.5...

Have you tested just with a .wav file? 

Specific to the mp3, are you "Importing" with AA? Rather than just trying to "Open" the file?  I don't recall if that was an issue, but I'd try that.

More likely, you have a difference in bitrate.  I'd confirm you are at 16 bit or 32 bit on both. 

hope that helps!

- Jim

Jim Edgar

jimedgarvoices@gmail.com (jimedgarvoices@gmail.com)
http://www.jimedgarvoices.com




On Fri, Apr 26, 2013 at 3:30 PM, zamboknee <forum2mail@hairersoft.com (forum2mail@hairersoft.com)> wrote:
I use Amadeus Pro on my laptop and Adobe Audition 1.5 (sigh) on my work computer.
When I try to save mp3 to open in Audition it never works out.
I think it's the codec.  Amadeus uses AAC codec and Audition uses mpeg 1 layer III.
Any tips on how to export/save to mp3 in Amadeus so that it'll open in Audition?
Thanks,




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

CDJonah
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 12:10 am

mp3 compatibility with Audition

Post by CDJonah »

All I can say is that we had some one send around some AAC files that some computers couldn't open. I opened them in AP and saved them AP. Possibly it is the bit rate. You have a choice of (at least in the version I am using) constant, variable or average bit rate. If I am going for portability, I use constant bit rate.

Chuck

On 4/26/13 6:35 PM, Jim Edgar wrote:
Wow, it's been a long time since I've seen AA 1.5...

Have you tested just with a .wav file?

Specific to the mp3, are you "Importing" with AA? Rather than just trying to "Open" the file? I don't recall if that was an issue, but I'd try that.

More likely, you have a difference in bitrate. I'd confirm you are at 16 bit or 32 bit on both.

hope that helps!

- Jim

Jim Edgar

jimedgarvoices@gmail.com (jimedgarvoices@gmail.com)
http://www.jimedgarvoices.com




On Fri, Apr 26, 2013 at 3:30 PM, zamboknee <forum2mail@hairersoft.com (forum2mail@hairersoft.com)> wrote:
I use Amadeus Pro on my laptop and Adobe Audition 1.5 (sigh) on my work computer.
When I try to save mp3 to open in Audition it never works out.
I think it's the codec. Amadeus uses AAC codec and Audition uses mpeg 1 layer III.
Any tips on how to export/save to mp3 in Amadeus so that it'll open in Audition?
Thanks,




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list



_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

JEGG
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:33 pm

Re: mp3 compatibility with Audition

Post by JEGG »

zamboknee wrote:I use Amadeus Pro on my laptop and Adobe Audition 1.5 (sigh) on my work computer.
When I try to save mp3 to open in Audition it never works out.
I think it's the codec. Amadeus uses AAC codec and Audition uses mpeg 1 layer III.
Any tips on how to export/save to mp3 in Amadeus so that it'll open in Audition?
Thanks,
I can't immediately offer an answer to your problem, but to avoid confusion, AAC and MP3 flavors are not the same. Make sure you are saving to an MP3 format-but see the question below...........

AAC is Apple's Advanced Audio Codec. I would be surprised if AA 1.5 would open any AAC file (though you could try typing in some different file extensions after the dot).

Question: Why are you saving to a compressed file format in AP if you are then going to open it and presumably process it in Audition?

Post Reply