Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

"mark selection" (bug/error)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ioannis



Joined: 06 Dec 2007
Posts: 57
Location: Netherlands/Greece

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 10:52 am    Post subject: "mark selection" (bug/error) Reply with quote

Hi Martin,

I have a recording of e.g. 1 minute on track-1
I want to correct a mistake on 10", so I create track-2, put the insert point at ±10" and record.
Then I mark the selection and...

the markers' duration is OK, but the marking starts from general 00:00:00, ignoring the real placement of the selection (on track-2) in the timeline. In this way this type of marking is a bit useless...

If you could, please change this?

What I like very much is that opt–dbl.click between the markers selects only the part (on any track) that falls within this marked region. Very helpful and efficient for work! Thanks!

Greetings
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 1:44 pm    Post subject: "mark selection" (bug/error) Reply with quote

Quote:
the markers' duration is OK, but the marking starts from general 00:00:00, ignoring the real placement of the selection (on track-2) in the timeline. In this way this type of marking is a bit useless...

If you could, please change this?

Got you, I'll see what I can do. Thanks for the feedback!
Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ioannis



Joined: 06 Dec 2007
Posts: 57
Location: Netherlands/Greece

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:57 pm    Post subject: not only markers (bug?) Reply with quote

I have also to add that not only the markers are placed according to the absolute beginning of the file/song, (on tracks starting later than 0:00) but the same behavior causes that:
- copying a selection that starts later than absolute 0:00 copies also the missing empty space (from 0:00 to the beginning of the selection)
- saving the same selection to a file, causes the same (empty space added in the beginning)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
MartinC



Joined: 15 Oct 2009
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was actually hoping that this would have been fixed in the new update, but sadly it isn't...

Just to repeat it in order to avoid misunderstandings, this is what happens:

- you have 2 tracks, one (A) starts at the beginning, the second one (B) is shifted to "the right", so it starts after 10 seconds

- select something into track B (or move the green mark) to 3 seconds in track B, which is 13 seconds into the whole song

- create a marker

- the marker is *not* created at the insertion point, but 3 seconds starting from the beginning - from the point of view of track B "in the wilderness".

This is a very annoying bug, because it makes the whole function pretty useless. For example I want to mark damaged areas in track B and then patch it with track A. For that I need to mark the start/end for the blends within track B and this is virtually impossible to do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ioannis



Joined: 06 Dec 2007
Posts: 57
Location: Netherlands/Greece

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 2:07 pm    Post subject: still something not to forget with markers... Reply with quote

hi Martin,

if you change the behavior of the markers, please don't change this:

if I select the audio within two markers (by opt-doubleclick) and record something in this region, the markers follow the new recording.
This is a fantastic feature and please don't change it.

greetings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
ioannis



Joined: 06 Dec 2007
Posts: 57
Location: Netherlands/Greece

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:03 pm    Post subject: markers numbering (multiple docs open) Reply with quote

Marker (auto-)numbering doesn't discriminate in which (open) document you place the new marker...

If I add marker #12 in doc-A, the next marker in doc-B will be... #13, even if it is the first marker in that document...

greetings
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group