Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

HELP! getting started with mac after using windows for years

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
obsessionduo



Joined: 11 Jan 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:02 pm    Post subject: HELP! getting started with mac after using windows for years Reply with quote

Hi! As a new convert to mac and Amadeus, I wonder if anyone can help on the following 2 questions!

1. I cannot seem to find Amadeus on my mac to put it into the "applications folder". The only way I find it is by opening a file "with amadeus"... is this because I am on the trial version and not yet paid for the software?

2. I am trying to add effects to a vocal,,I have downloaded the plug ins as instructed and put them in the mac libraray (audio and components) but when I try to find them when applying fx to the audio clip, I cannot find them to add onto the audio?

any help much appreciated from a newbie!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 5:13 pm    Post subject: HELP! getting started with mac after using windows for years Reply with quote

Quote:
1. I cannot seem to find Amadeus on my mac to put it into the "applications folder". The only way I find it is by opening a file "with amadeus"... is this because I am on the trial version and not yet paid for the software?

Control-click it in the Dock and choose Options -> Show in Finder. This will
show you where it is and you can then copy it to the Applications folder.
(Probably it's still in your Downloads folder....)

Quote:
2. I am trying to add effects to a vocal,,I have downloaded the plug ins as instructed and put them in the mac libraray (audio and components) but when I try to find them when applying fx to the audio clip, I cannot find them to add onto the audio?

If this is Amadeus Lite you are using, then you will have to force the Finder to
run it in 32-bit mode. Select it, type command-I, and tick the corresponding checkbox.
Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
obsessionduo



Joined: 11 Jan 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Martin thanks for that, have managed part 1 so its now in my applications folder. but do not understand part 2 of how to force finder to open as 32 bit.

I go to the library find the freeverb component correct? not sure what to do from here,,,?

with thanks

chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
obsessionduo



Joined: 11 Jan 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Martin. managed to get amadeus lite to open in 32 bit,,,sussed this out finally but still no freeverb showing in the audio racks? only the apple AU effects? am i missing something? thanks chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CDJonah_alt



Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 12:20 am    Post subject: HELP! getting started with mac after using windows for years Reply with quote

My vague recollection is that freeverb is an "old-style" VST plugin and
doesn't work on more modern VST systems. There is an apple au plugin
that does a similar thing,

Chuck

On 1/11/11 12:00 PM, obsessionduo wrote:
Quote:
Hi Martin. managed to get amadeus lite to open in 32 bit,,,sussed this out finally but still no freeverb showing in the audio racks? only the apple AU effects? am i missing something? thanks chris




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gerard Bik



Joined: 10 Nov 2006
Posts: 353

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 7:24 am    Post subject: HELP! getting started with mac after using windows for years Reply with quote

Chuck, I think you are right. FreeVerb was very good while it worked.

Anyone interested in experimenting with reverb should check uit the demo of QuikQuak RaySpace.

Gerard


Quote:
My vague recollection is that freeverb is an "old-style" VST plugin and doesn't work on more modern VST systems. There is an apple au plugin that does a similar thing,

Chuck

On 1/11/11 12:00 PM, obsessionduo wrote:
Quote:
Hi Martin. managed to get amadeus lite to open in 32 bit,,,sussed this out finally but still no freeverb showing in the audio racks? only the apple AU effects? am i missing something? thanks chris


--
______________________ _
Gerard Bik grafische vormgeving
Van Aerssenstraat 263
2582 JM Den Haag
070 3554081

Website: http://www.biknewz.nl
IEDP gecertificeerd
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 12:43 pm    Post subject: HELP! getting started with mac after using windows for years Reply with quote

For the record, there is an Audio Unit version of freeverb that is even 64-bit at

http://destroyfx.smartelectronix.com/software/freeverb-au-1.0.5.dmg

Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Gerard Bik



Joined: 10 Nov 2006
Posts: 353

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 1:26 pm    Post subject: HELP! getting started with mac after using windows for years Reply with quote

Thanks Martin,
got Freeverb working again.


I just followed the manual to install it "by dragging the corresponding file into the appropriate subfolder (Components for Audio Units and VST for VST effects) of your 'Library/Audio/Plug-Ins' folder."


Wink


Gerard




Quote:
For the record, there is an Audio Unit version of freeverb that is even 64-bit at

http://destroyfx.smartelectronix.com/software/freeverb-au-1.0.5.dmg
Regards,

Martin

HairerSofthttp://www.hairersoft.com/


Quote:
--
______________________ _
Gerard Bik grafische vormgeving
Van Aerssenstraat 263
2582 JM Den Haag
070 3554081


Website: http://www.biknewz.nl
IEDP gecertificeerd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group