Files burn to CD in .aiff format, not as .mp3

Discussion forum for Amadeus users

Moderator: Martin Hairer

Ambassador Zot

Post by Ambassador Zot »

Hi,

I am new at using this software; bought it a few days ago.

I am recording in mono, native .amad format, 16 bit/44.1 kHz. There is only one track in the timeline when I record and edit. I have a MacBook, Core 2 Duo, running AmadeusPro v1.5 under OS X 10.6.2.

My Sound settings are set at Nominal Sample Rate: 44100 Hz, IO Buffer Size: 512 samples, Input: left, Channel1, Audio Stream: Stream 0x103, Logical Stream Format: 2 channels/32 bit, Physical Stream Format: 2 channels/24 bit.

I recorded the first two chapters of an audio book into separate files, using AmadeusPro’s native .amad format. Making corrections and cleaning-up the resulting audio is easy. Beautiful.

I inserted one marker at the midpoint of the first chapter, and two markers in the second chapter, hoping to allow the ability to jump at ten minute intervals during the playback of the chapters.

I prepared the two .amad files for a test recording to a CD by converting them to .mp3 format. This condensed them drastically. According to the “Get info” results; from 119.6MB to 21.7 for chapter 1, and from 157.9 down to 28.7 for chapter 2.

I joined the two mp3 files; Sound > Join Files . . .
and burned a CD successfully.

A marker was placed between each separate file by the ‘Join Files’ action.

When I open the resulting CD, I have five tracks in the .aiff format and they are listed like this:
1 Audio Track.aiff (127 MB)
2 Audio Track.aiff (113 MB)
3 Audio Track.aiff (107 MB)
4 Audio Track.aiff (105 MB)
5 Audio Track.aiff (104 MB)

The files went in as mp3’s, and came out as .aiff; What’s up with that??

The first two tracks are my first chapter, and as mp3’s they should only combine to be 21.7 MB, instead of 240 MB.

Tracks 3 through 5 are 28.7 MB as an mp3, and not the 316 MB they are as .aiff files.