Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Clicks in live recordings

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Noiseboy



Joined: 09 Dec 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 5:09 am    Post subject: Clicks in live recordings Reply with quote

Hi all.
I've been using Amadeus for over a year now and I use it to record into from my live sound console at shows.
I was using an M Audio USB interface with my Powerbook G4 and do so as a backup to the cd burners I also record to. I found that there was a lot of clicks in the Amadeus recordings that were not there on the cd's. I recently bought a new MacBook pro with a dual core 3.06 GHz processor and a bucket load of RAM and also bought a Native Instruments Audio Kontrol 1 interface and upgraded to Amadeus Pro but the heavy dose of clicks is still there. I was recording at 44.1 and 16 bit so I can burn to cd quickly if I need to but the quality is unacceptable even though they are only reference cds.
Is this a known problem with a workaround? I don't think I'm doing anything wrong but would like to hear from anyone who knows what this is about.
Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:42 pm    Post subject: Clicks in live recordings Reply with quote

Hi, no this isn't a known problem. Do you have any error messages being logged to the console when you are recording? (Applications/Utilities/Console.app) Also, have you made sure that TimeMachine is turned off? (TM sometimes just blocks the whole filesystem activity, thus interrupting recordings.)
Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Noiseboy



Joined: 09 Dec 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Martin, thanks for the quick reply.
I've never looked at the console log while recording, I've got my hands full mixing the show, but I've just had a look now and there is a bunch of stuff relating to the Audio Kontrol on the day that I got the new computer and used the Migration Assistant to move everything from the old PowerBook to the new MBP. If it's relevant it would certainly explain why it's the same on the new computer as the old one.
Can I send the log to you for your perusal?

Regards,
Glynn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Noiseboy



Joined: 09 Dec 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Martin.

If I completely uninstall both Amadeus 11 and Amadeus Pro and then reinstall Pro will my License be automatically recognized, I don't know where the license key resides.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group