Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Two mono -> Stereo

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
WGroleau



Joined: 17 Nov 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 4:55 am    Post subject: Two mono -> Stereo Reply with quote

I took two stereo files and made each mono.
Moved one of the tracks into the same window as the other.
How do I turn them into a single stereo track, so that file A is left and file B is right?
_________________
--
Wes Groleau

Monica Groleau, 1951-2010
http://UniGen.us/?itemid=95
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CDJonah_alt



Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:31 am    Post subject: Two mono -> Stereo Reply with quote

Go to the little box on the right and set one left front and the other
right front (or front left and frong right).
Go to the sound menu and select Flatten document or flatten document to
new file.
Done.

Chuck

On 11/16/10 10:55 PM, WGroleau wrote:
Quote:
I took two stereo files and made each mono.
Moved one of the tracks into the same window as the other.
How do I turn them into a single stereo track, so that file A is left and file B is right?

------------------------
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WGroleau



Joined: 17 Nov 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:20 pm    Post subject: Re: Two mono -> Stereo Reply with quote

CDJonah_alt wrote:
Go to the little box on the right and set one left front and the other right front (or front left and frong right)
That's it, thanks!
_________________
--
Wes Groleau

Monica Groleau, 1951-2010
http://UniGen.us/?itemid=95
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WGroleau



Joined: 17 Nov 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 4:31 am    Post subject: But it worked before! Reply with quote

It worked the first time, but this time, doing the same thing makes one of the tracks the left channel and silences the other track for the right.

?!?!?
_________________
--
Wes Groleau

Monica Groleau, 1951-2010
http://UniGen.us/?itemid=95
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CDJonah_alt



Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 3:44 pm    Post subject: Two mono -> Stereo Reply with quote

In recording? You have to set both channels, one to left and the other
to right. You also have to check play on both of them.

On 11/25/10 10:31 PM, WGroleau wrote:
Quote:
It worked the first time, but this time, doing the same thing makes one of the tracks the left channel and silences the other track for the right.

?!?!?

------------------------
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WGroleau



Joined: 17 Nov 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 4:39 am    Post subject: Re: Two mono -> Stereo Reply with quote

CDJonah_alt wrote:
In recording? You have to set both channels, one to left and the other to right. You also have to check play on both of them.
Left/Right are not available. Left front/right front worked before, as I said. This time it does not work and no, I am not recording. I said I am combining two mono files. The second post in the thread answered my original question. That advice worked perfectly. But, now I am doing the same thing, and it is not working.
_________________
--
Wes Groleau

Monica Groleau, 1951-2010
http://UniGen.us/?itemid=95
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CDJonah_alt



Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 4:45 am    Post subject: Two mono -> Stereo Reply with quote

Where do you lose it? After you set left front and right front and
flatten to a new document, do you have both channels? Do you have the
two channels both marked as play?

Chuck



On 11/26/10 10:39 PM, WGroleau wrote:
Quote:
CDJonah_alt wrote:
Quote:
In recording? You have to set both channels, one to left and the other to right. You also have to check play on both of them.
Left/Right are not available. Left front/right front worked before, as I said. This time it does not work and no, I am not recording. I said I am combining two mono files. The second post in the thread answered my original question. That advice worked perfectly. But, now I am doing the same thing, and it is not working.

------------------------
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WGroleau



Joined: 17 Nov 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 5:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I probably wasn't clear, so I'll try again.

I had two mono tracks. As advised, I selected "left front" in one, and "right front" in the other, and then "flatten" Result was a stereo track which I was able to save as MP3.

But when I had the same situation, and selected "flatten", I got a stereo track again, but one side was silent.

I will open it again and see whether the "play" check box is an issue.
_________________
--
Wes Groleau

Monica Groleau, 1951-2010
http://UniGen.us/?itemid=95
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CDJonah_alt



Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 2:35 pm    Post subject: Two mono -> Stereo Reply with quote

Before you flatten the file, listen to it. Flattening takes whatever
settings you have so if you have the play unchecked or the volume slider
down or if you have used the envelope volume tool, the results of these
settings will be reflected in the final flattened document.

Chuck

On 11/26/10 11:01 PM, WGroleau wrote:
Quote:
OK, I probably wasn't clear, so I'll try again.

I had two mono tracks. As advised, I selected "left front" in one, and "right front" in the other, and then "flatten" Result was a stereo track which I was able to save as MP3.

But when I had the same situation, and selected "flatten", I got a stereo track again, but one side was silent.

I will open it again and see whether the "play" check box is an issue.

------------------------
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WGroleau



Joined: 17 Nov 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 8:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Two mono -> Stereo Reply with quote

CDJonah_alt wrote:
Before you flatten the file, listen to it. Flattening takes whatever settings you have
Aha. That was not obvious. Yes, making sure both are checked solved the problem. I am going to "new file" every time, so that my original project remains "unflattened." Thanks for the explanations. Probably in the VBM (Very Big Manual).
_________________
--
Wes Groleau

Monica Groleau, 1951-2010
http://UniGen.us/?itemid=95
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CDJonah_alt



Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 1:05 am    Post subject: Two mono -> Stereo Reply with quote

Yes, that is the purpose of the "flattening" to allow you to make all
the settings on all the tracks that you want and then turn the result
into something you can convert to something "useful". For example, when
I am making rehearsal tracks for singers, I will have a track fore each
of soprano, alto, tenor, bass and piano. I will then put one voice part
in the left channel at full volume, and all the rest in the right
channel at a decreased level and then flatten to a new file. The Pro
Tools command is to "bounce" it -- I suspect coming from old-style audio
editing.

Chuck

On 11/27/10 2:50 PM, WGroleau wrote:
Quote:
CDJonah_alt wrote:
Quote:
Before you flatten the file, listen to it. Flattening takes whatever settings you have
Aha. That was not obvious. Yes, making sure both are checked solved the problem. I am going to "new file" every time, so that my original project remains "unflattened." Thanks for the explanations. Probably in the VBM (Very Big Manual).

------------------------
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group