Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Mono recording strangely truncated: Is this normal?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
syncrasy



Joined: 08 Jul 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 8:15 pm    Post subject: Mono recording strangely truncated: Is this normal? Reply with quote

I'm trying to record a mono track in Amadeus Pro with a mono microphone, but the recording levels are strangely truncated. If I set the levels properly for a stereo recording, then try to record in mono using the same levels, the meter shows only green/yellow, but never red, even if I scream into the microphone. The resultant recording (not including the screaming, which is clipped), is significantly quieter than a stereo recording made at the same recording levels, and visually, the sound wave seems to be restricted to within the two gray lines (I don't know what they are called) that run above and below the middle line.

If I record in stereo mode (actually, only the Left channel) first, then convert to mono, the resulting audio is also quieter than the "stereo" version. I have to amplify the recording to achieve a proper sound level. I know I could do this as a workaround, but I am hoping to record straight to a mono track so that I can hear the sound in both the L and R speakers when I review the recording. (I'm doing a lot of short clips that require frequent review.)

I have used two different microphones (an inexpensive USB computer mic and a professional M-Audio USB mic), with the same results.

Am I doing something wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 11:12 am    Post subject: Mono recording not possible? Reply with quote

Quote:
I'm trying to record a mono track in Amadeus Pro with a mono
microphone, but the recording levels are strangely truncated. If I
set the levels properly for a stereo recording, then try to record
in mono using the same levels, the meter shows only green/yellow,
but never red, even if I scream into the microphone. The resultant
recording (not including the screaming, which is clipped), is
significantly quieter than a stereo recording made at the same
recording levels, and visually, the sound wave seems to be
restricted to within the two gray lines (I don't know what they are
called) that run above and below the middle line.

It reminds me of a bug I fixed some time ago. Which version of Amadeus
Pro are you using? Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
syncrasy



Joined: 08 Jul 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 11:21 am    Post subject: Re: Mono recording not possible? Reply with quote

Martin Hairer wrote:

It reminds me of a bug I fixed some time ago. Which version of Amadeus
Pro are you using?


I'm using Amadeus Pro v. 1.3.1 (the most recent version, I believe).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stickwolf



Joined: 09 Jul 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 2:24 pm    Post subject: Me too! Reply with quote

I have this same exact problem. version 1.3.1, OS 10.5.3

I'm using a Konnekt interface from TC. Clipped output from the input results in a -5.9dB wave form in Amadeus when recording to a mono file. Very annoying for what I want which is to do quick and dirty mono output to an mp3 that is functional for someone to later go listen to. I don't want it to save a 1/2 volume file.

I almost gave up on Amadeus and just now joined the forum to find out about this. I hope this is fixed ASAP.

Thanks,
Aaron Wolf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 2:47 pm    Post subject: Mono recording strangely truncated: Is this normal? Reply with quote

Quote:
I'm using a Konnekt interface from TC. Clipped output from the
input results in a -5.9dB wave form in Amadeus when recording to a
mono file. Very annoying for what I want which is to do quick and
dirty mono output to an mp3 that is functional for someone to later
go listen to. I don't want it to save a 1/2 volume file.

OK, I'll have a look at it. One workaround of course is to normalise
before saving the file... Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
syncrasy



Joined: 08 Jul 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 10:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Mono recording strangely truncated: Is this normal? Reply with quote

Martin Hairer wrote:
One workaround of course is to normalise
before saving the file


I used two batch processes (after recording my clips): 1) convert to mono, and 2) normalize, which worked perfectly. (I have over 150 clips, so the batch process feature is very much appreciated; I will happily upgrade to A. Pro in the near future.)

But I still would like to be able to record directly to a mono track that retains the original levels, so I appreciate your looking into this, Martin.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stickwolf



Joined: 09 Jul 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've actually not had this trouble in certain circumstances now. When I choose different inputs - such as mono-center vs mono-front it behaves differently.

I have to say that I strongly dislike Amadeus's defaulting to 5-channel concept. It is great to have the option to work that way, but if I want to just work in stereo, I should not have those things even show, front back and such. And if I'm recording in mono, I should have just a single mono meter and everything should be consistent for not having that stuff.

I only have a stereo system and I expect the majority of Amadeus users also only have stereo monitors in their audio set up. It seems stereo should be the default and the 5-channel should be an option.

Having said that, it work out that the input from my interface that I most often want to record from is channel 5, and so selecting mono-center in the record thing sets an ideal default for me. And with that setting, I'm actually getting all the results from Amadeus that I currently want.

-Aaron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group