Will there be compatibility with 'MacOS Sierra' OS X 10.12 ?

Discussion forum for Amadeus users

Moderator: Martin Hairer

User avatar
jhhl
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 7:03 pm
Location: Programmer
Contact:

Re: Will there be compatibility with 'MacOS Sierra' OS X 10.

Post by jhhl »

jhhl wrote:
....
So - it's a lot better and may be stable again! (my cautious remarks after a few minutes of testing)
Thanks!
Well, I guess I spoke too soon .. I'm still getting that crash when changing sonogram parameters, especially the slider on the bottom, but just trying to close the screen also stops it dead sometimes.
I get the crash alert, but can't push any of the buttons to get you a crash report.
Again, I'm on the latest Sierra, and Amadeus Version 2.3 (1712).
Not file-based - this can happen by analyzing a live recording.

User avatar
Martin Hairer
Site Admin
Posts: 1851
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:49 am
Contact:

Will there be compatibility with 'MacOS Sierra' OS X 10.12 ?

Post by Martin Hairer »

Hi, build (1721) available at the same link should fix the problem. It was caused by, in some circumstances,
passing the result of dividing 0 by 0 to the system call that sets the size of the knob for the scrollbar. In OS X
10.11 and earlier, it seems that this was harmless, probably because the program would always make a
subsequent call to the same function with a valid argument before it tries to actually draw the scrollbar. Due
to some internal change in Sierra, it seems that it isn't harmless there anymore... Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/

Rene van den Abeelen
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 9:34 am

Problems under Sierra

Post by Rene van den Abeelen »

The 2.3 (1719) software crashes every time on my Mac now that I've installed Sierra.
As soon as I have done some editing the software freezes and I get a pop up that should enable me to continue 'in a inconsistent state' or crash and even that doesn't work. I have to force quit.
Every time I click on the screen I get that standard sound that accompanies an error.
Sometimes I can still play the soundfile but nothing moves anymore on the screen and finally that pop up appears.
It's impossible for me to do any work with Amadeus Pro now. It seems no longer able to cope, it gets flooded.Image

User avatar
Martin Hairer
Site Admin
Posts: 1851
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:49 am
Contact:

Will there be compatibility with 'MacOS Sierra' OS X 10.12 ?

Post by Martin Hairer »

Hi, did you try build (1721) as suggested in the post just above? I believe that this build should fix the problems on Sierra.
Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/

User avatar
jhhl
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 7:03 pm
Location: Programmer
Contact:

Re: Will there be compatibility with 'MacOS Sierra' OS X 10.

Post by jhhl »

Martin Hairer wrote:Hi, build (1721) available at the same link should fix the problem. It was caused by, in some circumstances,
passing the result of dividing 0 by 0 to the system call that sets the size of the knob for the scrollbar. In OS X
10.11 and earlier, it seems that this was harmless, probably because the program would always make a
subsequent call to the same function with a valid argument before it tries to actually draw the scrollbar. Due
to some internal change in Sierra, it seems that it isn't harmless there anymore... Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/
I've fixed many similar bugs in my career! This sounds like it'll be fixed this time! Thanks!

RRettke
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 1:55 am
Location: Wisconsin USA

Post by RRettke »

Hi Martin, I am anxious to try this most recent build. I have been having very un-predictable and un-reproducible issues. I have not really know how to report them and without specificity I did not think they would be much help. I only use Amadeus once every week or two, although intensely when I do, but quit and restart has allowed me to get my tasks done. I will install this update and if weirdness persists I will let you know.

Rene van den Abeelen
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 9:34 am

Re: Will there be compatibility with 'MacOS Sierra' OS X 10.

Post by Rene van den Abeelen »

[quote="Martin Hairer"]Hi, did you try build (1721) as suggested in the post just above? I believe that this build should fix the problems on Sierra.
Regards,

Martin

--
I downloaded from the Pro-page but then I get 1719. Where is 1721 available? Thanks very much!

User avatar
Martin Hairer
Site Admin
Posts: 1851
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:49 am
Contact:

Will there be compatibility with 'MacOS Sierra' OS X 10.12 ?

Post by Martin Hairer »

Hi, it is at the link

http://www.hairersoft.com/Downloads/AmadeusPro.zip

Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/

Rene van den Abeelen
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 9:34 am

Re: Will there be compatibility with 'MacOS Sierra' OS X 10.

Post by Rene van den Abeelen »

[quote="Martin Hairer"]Hi, it is at the link

http://www.hairersoft.com/Downloads/AmadeusPro.zip

Thanks very much!!! I'll give it a try and I will let you know if the problems are solved!
Bye

Rene van den Abeelen
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 9:34 am

Re: Will there be compatibility with 'MacOS Sierra' OS X 10.

Post by Rene van den Abeelen »

[quote="Martin Hairer"]Hi, it is at the link

http://www.hairersoft.com/Downloads/AmadeusPro.zip

VERY happy to report this version works as good as ever! Thanks very much!

RRettke
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 1:55 am
Location: Wisconsin USA

Post by RRettke »

So far so good, none of the inexplicable weirdness has occurred. Looks like you got it!

Post Reply