Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Inadvertently recording stereo as mono

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Anglo



Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 3:37 am    Post subject: Inadvertently recording stereo as mono Reply with quote

I have only just started using Amadeus; apologies for stupid newbie questions.

I just recorded a stereo CD and when I stopped and opened the Amadeus file, all I had was a mono track. Could I have inadvertently changed some setting on record? What might have led to this?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
rfwilmut



Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I assume we are talking about Amadeus Pro? On command-N, Amadeus opens a new file as stereo or mono dependent on what your last recording was. You can change it from the 'Sound' menu - 'Convert track to mono' or 'Convert track to stereo'.

You can tell which mode you are in by looking in the toolbar for the 'Split stereo file' icon (a stereo track being split apart) which will be greyed out if you are in mono.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 2:17 pm    Post subject: Inadvertently recording stereo as mono Reply with quote

Quote:
I just recorded a stereo CD

No need to record. Juts put the CD into your computer and open the
tracks with Amadeus. They just appear as regular sound files. Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Anglo



Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, rfwilmut. yes, Amadeus Pro. I think that's what it was, and I must have hit that menu item somewhere along the line, or the keyboard short cut if there is one. - but I hadn't realized till the end of the recording that I'd recorded the whole thing in mono. Too late then to do anything except change the setting and start again.

Sorry Martin, I meant to say record an LP (for conversion to CD).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group