Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Restoring from a crash

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
darthonamadeus



Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 11:40 am    Post subject: Restoring from a crash Reply with quote

Hi, Not quite sure what happened... When trying to save a recording (from live radio) I checked the AAC bitrate settings, but none were available! When I clicked on Cancel to try a 'Save As' again to see if they were there this time, the window closed!!!!

Is there a file somewhere I can restore/reopen from? I really want that recording.

Thanks in advance, darth
(I have searched on this forum for 'restoring', but there were no results.)

Using Mac G4 Mirror Door. Amadeus II ver. 3.8.7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 12:03 pm    Post subject: Restoring from a crash Reply with quote

Quote:
Is there a file somewhere I can restore/reopen from? I really want
that recording.

Just reopen Amadeus Pro. It will automatically move the recovered
temporary files into your trash bin. You can then move them out and
open them with the "Import Raw Data" function. Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 12:10 pm    Post subject: Restoring from a crash Reply with quote

Quote:
Hi, Not quite sure what happened... When trying to save a recording
(from live radio) I checked the AAC bitrate settings, but none were
available! When I clicked on Cancel to try a 'Save As' again to see
if they were there this time, the window closed!!!!

By the way, could you please send me the crash report? It should be in
your Library/Logs/CrashReporter folder. Thanks,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
darthonamadeus



Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 12:45 pm    Post subject: Crash Reporter Reply with quote

Hi Martin,

Closed Amadeus then re-opened... Nothing in Trash. The Crash Reporter folder is empty too.

Thinking back over what I did (and with hindsight I maybe should not do it this way, but have done it hundreds of times with no problems)...

I clicked the red dot to close the recording. Clicked on Save. This then opens the Save As window. Clicked on Settings... to check the AAC bitrate as I always do, just in case. But the drop down menu for bitrate only had 'not available' (or very similar), which I've not seen before!

The next step was I either clicked on Cancel for that dialogue box, or then followed that by clicking on Cancel for the Save As... box. Either way I would normally return to the open recording window. In this case the recording window closed! The Amadeus program remaining open.

Regards, darth

FURTHER TO ABOVE:
Have just tried this sequence again on Amadeus II on my G4... Each time when I click Cancel on the Save As box, the recording closes!!
On Amadeus Pro on my main Mac the recording remains open!!!

Looks like it was my fault, D'Oh! That aside, is there anywhere the .tmp recording may be on my drive?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 2:52 pm    Post subject: Restoring from a crash Reply with quote

Quote:
The next step was I either clicked on Cancel for that dialogue box,
or then followed that by clicking on Cancel for the Save As... box.
Either way I would normally return to the open recording window. In
this case the recording window closed! The Amadeus program remaining
open.

Yes, this is a bug. I fixed it a couple of weeks ago, the version at <http://www.hairersoft.com/Downloads/AmadeusPro.zip
Quote:
should behave as expected. Version 1.3.3 will include that fix.

Quote:
is there anywhere the .tmp recording may be on my drive?


Launch Amadeus and open a file. Then select it in the "Activity
Monitor" and hit "Inspect". The "Open files and ports" tab in that
window shows the list of all open files, including the temp files that
have names like "Temp_Amad_000001.amadeustemp" and should be towards
the end of the list. This will show you their location, and you should
find the old temp files there. Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group