Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

m4a - codec missing

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
padmavyuha



Joined: 19 Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Location: Stawley, Somerset

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 9:42 am    Post subject: m4a - codec missing Reply with quote

Hello there

I've just been trying to convert some wav files to m4a or mp4, but Amadeus Pro says it can't create a converter because there's a codec missing, so I had to save them as mp3s. Is there somewhere I can get the appropriate codecs and install them, or what's happening here?

Thanks in advance for your time...

- padmavyuha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bordrider



Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the same problem, and haven't noticed any fixes or relevant bugs or anything. Am I missing something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bzemeski



Joined: 16 May 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried editing a m4a file and then save it and get the same notice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 8:48 am    Post subject: m4a - codec missing Reply with quote

Quote:
I'm having the same problem, and haven't noticed any fixes or
relevant bugs or anything. Am I missing something?


Use the Sound -> Characteristics function to change the sampling rate
to 44.1 kHz. This should do the trick. I will fix the next version so
that it recognises this situation and does the resampling
automatically... Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bzemeski



Joined: 16 May 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 6:59 pm    Post subject: Re: m4a - codec missing Reply with quote

[/quote]

Use the Sound -> Characteristics function to change the sampling rate
to 44.1 kHz. This should do the trick. I will fix the next version so
that it recognises this situation and does the resampling
automatically... Regards,

Martin

So the "Sampling Rate" is to be set to 44100 Hz AND what about the "Sampling depth"? 8, 16, 24 bits?

I change the "Sampling Rate" to 44100 Hz and it was then willing to burn, but I do not know what format to use for playing the audio recorded in m4a on a CD.

Thanks Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 8:31 am    Post subject: m4a - codec missing Reply with quote

Quote:
So the "Sampling Rate" is to be set to 44100 Hz AND what about the
"Sampling depth"? 8, 16, 24 bits?

Audio data on a CD is 16 Bit.

Quote:
I change the "Sampling Rate" to 44100 Hz and it was then willing to
burn, but I do not know what format to use for playing the audio
recorded in m4a on a CD.

Sorry, but I am not sure I understand the question? Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bzemeski



Joined: 16 May 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 10:30 am    Post subject: Re: m4a - codec missing Reply with quote

[quote="Martin Hairer"]
Quote:
So the "Sampling Rate" is to be set to 44100 Hz AND what about the
"Sampling depth"? 8, 16, 24 bits?

Audio data on a CD is 16 Bit.

Quote:
I change the "Sampling Rate" to 44100 Hz and it was then willing to
burn, but I do not know what format to use for playing the audio
recorded in m4a on a CD.

Sorry, but I am not sure I understand the question? Regards,

Well Martin, I think you have already answered it in another thread. You said it didn't matter.

My question arose the when the app. wouldn't burn and if it did and didn't play it would have meant that among other things I burned it in the wrong format for compatibility with the CD player. THe confusion on my part is when you go to save there are a number of options as to the format type that it can be saved in AIFF, m4a, mp4, wave, mpe, AAC ADTS, etc. I didn't know which to chose to be compatible with the CD player. I was told to set the sampling rate to 44.1mHz and burn. I don't understand, but it did work. I thought one of file endings above had to be selected for it to play properly.

If it doesn't matter why do they have so many. It seems the AIFF file is much larger than the m4a in physical size. But I am not really hearing a difference.

I did notice on my CD player the recording level was low or as the volume it played at was low. Is there a way to make the level higher before you burn?

Thanks,
Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CDJonah_alt



Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 2:39 pm    Post subject: m4a - codec missing Reply with quote

1) If you are burning an audio CD, everything gets converted to
appropriate CD format -- a format that is a cousin to the 16-bit 44.1khz
aiff or wav file.

2) The other formats are appropriate for saving to disk, transferring to
ipod, etc. The aiff (or wav) is much larger because it does not throw
away any data. The format depends on what you are going to do with the
file.

3) To make it louder, select the entire track(s) and normalize (effects
menu) -.1 dB or 99% for maximal sample value radio button. Under no
conditions, use the other radio button.

Chuck

bzemeski wrote:
Quote:
Martin Hairer wrote:

Quote:
Quote:
So the "Sampling Rate" is to be set to 44100 Hz AND what about the
"Sampling depth"? 8, 16, 24 bits?


Audio data on a CD is 16 Bit.



Quote:
I change the "Sampling Rate" to 44100 Hz and it was then willing to
burn, but I do not know what format to use for playing the audio
recorded in m4a on a CD.


Sorry, but I am not sure I understand the question? Regards,

Well Martin, I think you have already answered it in another thread. You said it didn't matter.

My question arose the when the app. wouldn't burn and if it did and didn't play it would have meant that among other things I burned it in the wrong format for compatibility with the CD player. THe confusion on my part is when you go to save there are a number of options as to the format type that it can be saved in AIFF, m4a, mp4, wave, mpe, AAC ADTS, etc. I didn't know which to chose to be compatible with the CD player. I was told to set the sampling rate to 44.1mHz and burn. I don't understand, but it did work. I thought one of file endings above had to be selected for it to play properly.

If it doesn't matter why do they have so many. It seems the AIFF file is much larger than the m4a in physical size. But I am not really hearing a difference.

I did notice on my CD player the recording level was low or as the volume it played at was low. Is there a way to make the level higher before you burn?

Thanks,
Bob

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list






_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bzemeski



Joined: 16 May 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:29 pm    Post subject: Re: m4a - codec missing Reply with quote

[quote="CDJonah_alt"]1) If you are burning an audio CD, everything gets converted to appropriate CD format -- a format that is a cousin to the 16-bit 44.1khz aiff or wav file.

2) The other formats are appropriate for saving to disk, transferring to
ipod, etc. The aiff (or wav) is much larger because it does not throw
away any data. The format depends on what you are going to do with the
file.

3) To make it louder, select the entire track(s) and normalize (effects
menu) -.1 dB or 99% for maximal sample value radio button. Under no
conditions, use the other radio button.

Thanks Chuck! Really helpful.
In point 1 you say everything gets converted to appropriate CD format -- I had to set the sampling to 44.1kHz to get it to burn.

Point 2 - So, if I want quality recording I burn in aiff? If it is just audio, that is a lecture. Just set it to m4a or mp3 and burn?

Point 3 - how does a negative .1 dB improve the volume or is this -.1 down from a 100%?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CDJonah_alt



Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 3:05 am    Post subject: m4a - codec missing Reply with quote

You have to be at 44.1, but any format at 44.1 16 will work

You change the quality when you save the file. You are always going to
in essence burn in aiff format (if you are doing audio CDs). So if you
take the material save it to an mp3 and then load it back in, AP will
re-expand it back to an aiff-like format; of course what was lost in the
saving is still lost.

0 dB is 100% -- that's why 99% is about like -.1 dB -- you are not
amplifying by -.1 dB, you are setting the maximum level to -.1 dB (or
99%) so you have virtually full scale.

bzemeski wrote:
Quote:
[quote="CDJonah_alt"]1) If you are burning an audio CD, everything gets converted to appropriate CD format -- a format that is a cousin to the 16-bit 44.1khz aiff or wav file.

2) The other formats are appropriate for saving to disk, transferring to
ipod, etc. The aiff (or wav) is much larger because it does not throw
away any data. The format depends on what you are going to do with the
file.

3) To make it louder, select the entire track(s) and normalize (effects
menu) -.1 dB or 99% for maximal sample value radio button. Under no
conditions, use the other radio button.

Thanks Chuck! Really helpful.
In point 1 you say everything gets converted to appropriate CD format -- I had to set the sampling to 44.1kHz to get it to burn.

Point 2 - So, if I want quality recording I burn in aiff? If it is just audio, that is a lecture. Just set it to m4a or mp3 and burn?

Point 3 - how does a negative .1 dB improve the volume or is this -.1 down from a 100%?




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bzemeski



Joined: 16 May 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 7:37 am    Post subject: THANKS Reply with quote

CDJonah Thank you so much!
I am very appreciative to learn what I am doing and why Very Happy

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group