Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

adding tracks at work point in timeline

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alansilv



Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Southern California, USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:24 pm    Post subject: adding tracks at work point in timeline Reply with quote

I am very happily using Amadeus Pro to edit and produce 5-minute radio features which usually involve 15-20 files (voice tracks, music, film clip audio, interview actualities). My workflow is: I add a track, drag the audio to where it needs to be vis-a-vis the previous track, adjust the transition, fade, level, etc. so it sounds right, then add the next track and so on till it's complete after which I flatten the whole thing to a new file. It would save some time if I could add each new track to start at the point in the timeline where I am working instead of at the zero point. I cannot find a way to do this and wonder if it exists or if there is any workaround so that the audio from a new track would line up with the timeline point I select in the previous adjacent track. Any suggestions?
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
CDJonah_alt



Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 7:56 pm    Post subject: adding tracks at work point in timeline Reply with quote

What about inserting at zero and then use "add silence" with the amount
you want? Possibly a work around.

Chuck

alansilv wrote:
Quote:
I am very happily using Amadeus Pro to edit and produce 5-minute radio features which usually involve 15-20 files (voice tracks, music, film clip audio, interview actualities). My workflow is: I add a track, drag the audio to where it needs to be vis-a-vis the previous track, adjust the transition, fade, level, etc. so it sounds right, then add the next track and so on till it's complete after which I flatten the whole thing to a new file. It would save some time if I could add each new track to start at the point in the timeline where I am working instead of at the zero point. I cannot find a way to do this and wonder if it exists or if there is any workaround so that the audio from a new track would line up with the timeline point I select in the previous adjacent track. Any suggestions?
Thanks.




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list


--
Charles D. Jonah CDJonah@anl.gov
630-252-3471
Chemistry Division
Argonne National Laboratory
Argonne, IL 60439



_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alansilv



Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Southern California, USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 9:41 pm    Post subject: Re: adding tracks at work point in timeline Reply with quote

[quote="CDJonah_alt"]What about inserting at zero and then use "add silence" with the amount
you want? Possibly a work around.

Chuck,
An interesting idea, but - like the dragging process - it involves more steps: calculating the amount of silence needed, cmd-T, entering the amount of time, then inserting the silence. I would like to be able to choose a spot for the inserted audio to land ...maybe at a marker or something like that. In both your workaround and my dream solution - as well as the dragging process I'm doing now - I'd still have to fine tune it to make the audio transition sound natural or appropriate for the elements in the piece, but it would save steps to import the audio right to the spot I need ...and saving steps is what I'm after.
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group