Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Looping

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ingvar Loco Nordin



Joined: 22 Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 11:00 pm    Post subject: Looping Reply with quote

Amadeus pro is often very superior to Soundmaker, but in some instances Soundmaker makes it much easier for you. I want to loop tracks, individually. I want, say, 20 tracks, stacked above each other on screen, to loop, and I want them to loop individually, i.e., they all start out at the same time, but as the tracks are of different durations, the relationship BETWEEN the tracks change, so that many illusionistic sound patterns appear. When one track is played through, it immediately begins from it's beginning again, and so do all the other tracks, but being of different lengths, the relationship changes all the time.
I have not found a way to do this in Amadeus Pro. Is there one? Or can the owner fix it?

All best,

Ingvar Loco Nordin
_________________
All Times Are Now, All Places Are Here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Tristan



Joined: 13 Oct 2007
Posts: 30
Location: location, location

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 3:39 am    Post subject: Re: Looping Reply with quote

To my knowledge there's no way to do this; the way Amadeus is designed, there's one playhead position per sound window, universal to all the tracks in it. The closest approximation I've found for situations like that is to open each track in its own window. Of course, this means there's no master play/pause control: you have to start the windows playing one at a time, then stop them one at a time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ingvar Loco Nordin



Joined: 22 Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 9:26 am    Post subject: Re: Looping Reply with quote

Tristan wrote:
To my knowledge there's no way to do this; the way Amadeus is designed, there's one playhead position per sound window, universal to all the tracks in it. The closest approximation I've found for situations like that is to open each track in its own window. Of course, this means there's no master play/pause control: you have to start the windows playing one at a time, then stop them one at a time.


This is a major drawback, which will seriously limit my use of Amadeus. I can see myself making a sound in Amadeus, then taking the sound as an AIFF to a 9.2.2. computer (Soundmaker doesn't run on X), and working it there.

Can't this be fixed as a feature?
_________________
All Times Are Now, All Places Are Here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pm@philxmilstein.com



Joined: 12 Nov 2006
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 5:23 pm    Post subject: Looping Reply with quote

A workaround might be to create your loops each as a separate Amadeus file,
with the looping repeats built into the file, extending beyond the length
you would ultimately need. Upon pasting them into a single Amadeus file,
they could then function as needed, and you could begin and end playback at
any point you choose.

Not an elegant solution, perhaps, but on the whole I think it would suit
your needs, and without having to backtrack to any older OS's.

--Phil M.


Ingvar Loco Nordin wrote:

Quote:

Tristan wrote:
Quote:
To my knowledge there's no way to do this; the way Amadeus is designed,
there's one playhead position per sound window, universal to all the tracks
in it. The closest approximation I've found for situations like that is to
open each track in its own window. Of course, this means there's no master
play/pause control: you have to start the windows playing one at a time,
then stop them one at a time.


This is a major drawback, which will seriously limit my use of Amadeus. I can
see myself making a sound in Amadeus, then taking the sound as an AIFF to a
9.2.2. computer (Soundmaker doesn't run on X), and working it there.

Can't this be fixed as a feature?

------------------------
All Times Are Now, All Places Are Here




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at
http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ingvar Loco Nordin



Joined: 22 Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 5:27 pm    Post subject: Re: Looping Reply with quote

That is not viable... I have to be able to loop many tracks with ease, and fast. SoundMaker is perfect for this. I can try any loops out and really fast find out if they're any good. One of the benefits of Soundmaker's way of looping is that you can compose really intricate pieces by just looping many really short tracks of different lengths, and still the sound - the relationships between the sounds on different tracks - will keep on changing into new sonic adventures. I've made compositions more than an hour long this way. So I'll have to bring my Amasdeus sounds to my Soundmaker computer to reach my goasl. A pity.

Ingvar Loco Nordin

pm@philxmilstein.com wrote:
A workaround might be to create your loops each as a separate Amadeus file,
with the looping repeats built into the file, extending beyond the length
you would ultimately need. Upon pasting them into a single Amadeus file,
they could then function as needed, and you could begin and end playback at
any point you choose.

Not an elegant solution, perhaps, but on the whole I think it would suit
your needs, and without having to backtrack to any older OS's.

--Phil M.


_________________
All Times Are Now, All Places Are Here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
griffokk



Joined: 10 Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Location: Oklahoma City

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 5:51 pm    Post subject: Looping Reply with quote

Looping is beyond the scope of what Amadeus is intended for, but have you tried Apple's Garageband?

Very simple audio multitracking program with some looping capabilities, and should run on any recent Mac capable of running AM Pro.





---- Ingvar Loco Nordin <loco.nordin@mbox200.swipnet.se> wrote:
Quote:
That is not viable... I have to be able to loop many tracks with ease, and fast. SoundMaker is perfect for this. I can try any loops out and really fast find out if they're any good. One of the benefits of Soundmaker's way of looping is that you can compose really intricate pieces by just looping many really short tracks of different lengths, and still the sound - the relationships between the sounds on different tracks - will keep on changing into new sonic adventures. I've made compositions more than an hour long this way. So I'll have to bring my Amasdeus sounds to my Soundmaker computer to reach my goasl. A pity.

Ingvar Loco Nordin


pm@philxmilstein.com wrote:
Quote:
A workaround might be to create your loops each as a separate Amadeus file,
with the looping repeats built into the file, extending beyond the length
you would ultimately need. Upon pasting them into a single Amadeus file,
they could then function as needed, and you could begin and end playback at
any point you choose.

Not an elegant solution, perhaps, but on the whole I think it would suit
your needs, and without having to backtrack to any older OS's.

--Phil M.




------------------------
All Times Are Now, All Places Are Here




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group