Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Recordings have gaps not present on original

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bull



Joined: 08 Jun 2010
Posts: 39
Location: Blacksburg, Virginia

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 7:37 pm    Post subject: Recordings have gaps not present on original Reply with quote

Hi,
I'm an inveterate listener of Audible.com audio books. I download my purchases to my computer, and then record and reformat them to short chunks of .m4a for use on an iPod Shuffle. Playing the Audible .aa file on the Shuffle is a problem, since inadvertently hitting the 'Back' button takes me back to the beginning of the file, possibly many hours, with no easy way to find my way back to my last position. With short chunks (~2 minutes long) I never go too far back. This copying and reformatting is probably contrary to the fine print, but since I am the sole user of the product, and I paid for the original, I don't feel bad at all about it.

Basically I play the .aa format in iTunes and route the sound from iTunes to Amadeus pro using Jack. I let the entire file play in the background, then save the .amad file and do a little post-processing to insert markers at periods of silence about two minutes apart, then split to .m4a according to these markers. This has worked fine for several years and hundreds of audio books.

Lately, however, the end result has glitches in the audio, each of a few seconds of missing content. There's no silence there, just one sentence stops abruptly and is immediately followed in the middle of a slightly later dialog. This hiccup is not present in the original .aa file.

Does this sound like something Audible.com is doing to discourage me? I've never heard of a technology that lets playback continue normally but that places glitches in any recording, but I suppose anything is possible. Isn't the sound out of iTunes just digital sound? Could something be in the stream that causes Amadeus Pro to mis-process it?

Thanks for any advice,
WD in Blacksburg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Bull



Joined: 08 Jun 2010
Posts: 39
Location: Blacksburg, Virginia

PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2017 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Answering my own question, I believe the problem was that Amadeus Pro was pausing during recording when communications with the external drive used for Temp Files were bogged down. Perhaps slow transfer rates, or full buffers.

In any event I changed the disk to be used for Temp files to a different one, and the problem disappeared.

I'd be happy to explain my troubleshooting steps that led me to this solution if anyone is interested.

If I am right, my only problem is why AP didn't notify me that it was having trouble writing Temp files.

Bull

PS AP Preferences were set to use the disk with the most free space, but it was not. There was another drive with more space. I over-rode the selection and chose the one with more space, and that's what fixed it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group