Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Sound corrupted... again

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MorganG



Joined: 28 Jan 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 12:25 am    Post subject: Sound corrupted... again Reply with quote

I just completed recording a 70 minute lesson for my students.

When I hit "play" I get a loud metallic sound.

The waveform looks normal, but the playback is anything but normal.

I've already saved it, but last time I experienced this, the saved file was corrupted.

Note that when I was recording, I saw the recording/sound bars move up and down in time with my voice just as they should have. I am certain that the source of this noise is NOT my microphone.

Question 1: How can I save my recording?

Question 2: How can I ever trust Amadeus Pro again, after the 2nd time this has happened?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MorganG



Joined: 28 Jan 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The waveform on my screen looks normal, as in the image.

However, if I play it, it's just metallic buzzing.

If I copy a segment and paste it to another window, the "normal" appearance goes away, it becomes mostly a flatline with buzzing.

I'm afraid to close this window, as the last time this happened and I did that, any semblance of a normal recording were lost.


[img]https://www.dropbox.com/s/9jwavtwsdc3b73c/Screen%20Shot%202016-03-21%20at%206.30.06%20PM.png?raw=1[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Unfo



Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also with my iMAC there is the same problem.
Moreover when i play from the window the velocity is one half
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1613

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 8:59 am    Post subject: Sound corrupted... again Reply with quote

If I remember correctly, the reason why this happened to you last time was that the drive containing the temporary files got unmounted during the session. I suggested to make sure that Amadeus uses the internal drive for its temporary files so that this would not happen again.

Are you sure that this wasn't caused in the same way again? This is the only scenario I can imagine where something like that would happen. Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1613

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 9:27 am    Post subject: Sound corrupted... again Reply with quote

Quote:
Moreover when i play from the window the velocity is one half

The playback speed can be adjusted in the "Playback controller" window. If it still plays back at half speed, then the sample rate of the file is wrong. Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
MorganG



Joined: 28 Jan 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:33 am    Post subject: Re: Sound corrupted... again Reply with quote

Yes... I saw your suggestion again last night after this file was lost. And I agree that is the cause. I have a backup raid volume that is my "largest" volume, with a drive that's going bad. I think it went offline while I was recording, and now I can't get it back online... so the recording was lost... again.

I can see why this default behavior of "choosing the largest volume" might have made sense back in the old days of small disks, but it makes no sense to me in the current environment. I have now lost two files because of it, and in my anger at that, almost ended up posting some quite negative reviews of Amadeus (fortunately, a cool head prevailed in the end).

There are no other programs I work with that arbitrarily use external drives (such as backup drives) to store mission critical files. For example, take Final Cut Pro X - while it is possible to set the cache to a different drive, by default it is on the same drive as the Library. This is normal and expected behavior for every program that I've worked with.

While you pointed out to me that there was a setting for this, it was well after the first file-corrupting incident occurred, and it seemed like a rare, one-time thing, and so I hadn't changed the setting. If it had been clear to me that Amadeus was by default storing temp files on my backup drive, I would have turned that off immediately.

Since this is the default behavior, I'm sure that you have many users whose temp recordings are going to random "large" drives on their system without their knowledge. Fortunately, most drives are pretty reliable these days - but still, even if it weren't for these two file corruption incidents, I don't like the default behavior of my backup drive (with it's slow speed USB 2.0 connection) being used to store files for a sound recording app.

I have now fixed this setting in my copy of the app, and I hope this will never occur again. However, I do strongly urge you to reconsider this default setting of storing files to the largest drive. I think it may produce unexpected behavior and file loss that increases headaches for everyone - you included. (my own headache was re-recording my lesson at 2am... how fun!)

Thanks
Morgan

Martin Hairer wrote:
If I remember correctly, the reason why this happened to you last time was that the drive containing the temporary files got unmounted during the session. I suggested to make sure that Amadeus uses the internal drive for its temporary files so that this would not happen again.

Are you sure that this wasn't caused in the same way again? This is the only scenario I can imagine where something like that would happen. Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group