Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Effects preview behaviour

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Roy



Joined: 26 Feb 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 8:07 am    Post subject: Effects preview behaviour Reply with quote

I have been using version 1.5 at my work for quite a few years now, and have become very familiar with the workflow of applying effects to selections, but I have just purchased the newest version for use at home and there is one startling difference, I used to be able to place the cursor at an area of interest, open an AU effect and be able to preview from the cursor location. i could then stop the preview, then move the cursor somewhere else, then preview from that point, ultimately making a selection in the main window, then going back to the effect window to apply the effect exactly where I wanted it.

Now it seems that the default preview start point is the beginning of the file. the only way I can do it now is to make a selection first, then open the effects window. if i want to check a different part of the track, I have to close the effects window, make a different selection, then choose the effect from the menu again. It has become a very clumsy process; is there a solution for this?

thanks,
_________________
Roy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roy



Joined: 26 Feb 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

forgot to mention os version: Mavericks 10.9.5
_________________
Roy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roy



Joined: 26 Feb 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have since discovered the little icon which enables real-time effects, so I can preview an effect throughout the file, then select the part that needs it, then copy the settings to another instance of the plugin via the effects menu.
It is still an awkward process, but better than before.

But I have found another problem:
When I save a file with live effects, I see a prompt that warns that the effect will be applied to the entire file - exactly what i want sometimes, and it works; but only if you then close the file. If you don't, you will discover that the original audio is still loaded, and the live plugin is still in place. if you remove or bypass the plugin you will hear the original audio again. So there seems to be a missing step in this particular process, the saved audio needs to be loaded and the live plugins removed immediately after a save command.
_________________
Roy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group