Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Help with timeline

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mustbjones



Joined: 22 Nov 2006
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 7:54 pm    Post subject: Help with timeline Reply with quote

I have a short (8 sec.) sound clip that I need to repeat several times, starting at the 30 second mark and every 30 seconds for 6 times. But no matter what I try, I can't seem to get the timeline to expand past the first clip. What can I do? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gerard Bik



Joined: 10 Nov 2006
Posts: 353

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 8:25 pm    Post subject: Help with timeline Reply with quote

Effects > Generate Silence

Add 30 sec of silence before and 22 sec of silence after your clip.


Quote:
I have a short (8 sec.) sound clip that I need to repeat several times, starting at the 30 second mark and every 30 seconds for 6 times. But no matter what I try, I can't seem to get the timeline to expand past the first clip. What can I do? Thanks.


--
______________________ _
Gerard Bik grafische vormgeving
Van Aerssenstraat 263
2582 JM Den Haag
070 3554081

Website: http://www.biknewz.nl
IEDP gecertificeerd
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pm@philxmilstein.com



Joined: 12 Nov 2006
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 10:04 pm    Post subject: Help with timeline Reply with quote

Perhaps you are pasting over the clip, rather than to an insertion point at
very end of the clip.

If I understand correctly, you're trying to create a pseudo-loop, so that
the clip is actually repeated within the file (as opposed to a true loop, in
which the file contains only a single iteration of the clip, which is then
automatically repeated by the software). The way I handle this is:

1. Select and copy the clip.

2. Set the insertion point to the tail end of the clip, via option-right
arrow.

3. Paste.

4. Rinse and repeat.

I hope this helps,
--Phil M.



mustbjones wrote:

Quote:
I have a short (8 sec.) sound clip that I need to repeat several times,
starting at the 30 second mark and every 30 seconds for 6 times. But no
matter what I try, I can't seem to get the timeline to expand past the first
clip. What can I do? Thanks.




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at
http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mustbjones



Joined: 22 Nov 2006
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I am trying to create a pseudo-loop. But it must have some dead space in it to line up with some animation that I am doing. GerardBik seems to have the right idea about inserting silence. But tell me, is ms mili-seconds? Are there 100 or 1000 ms's in a second?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pm@philxmilstein.com



Joined: 12 Nov 2006
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:09 pm    Post subject: Help with timeline Reply with quote

If you can make do without silence between cycles of the clip, you might
prefer to manipulate the duration of your soundfile via the Change Pitch and
Speed command, which would allow you to adjust the duration while
maintaining the original pitch.

Alternately, Change Pitch adjusts duration but with the pitch changing
accordingly. This method is easier to use than CP&S, and If the adjustment
is only very slight then the pitch change will likely be virtually
unnoticeable.

In either case, with a bit of trial-and-error you should be able to hit your
time goal very precisely.

--Phil M.


mustbjones wrote:

Quote:
Yes, I am trying to create a pseudo-loop. But it must have some dead space in
it to line up with some animation that I am doing. GerardBik seems to have
the right idea about inserting silence. But tell me, is ms mili-seconds? Are
there 100 or 1000 ms's in a second?




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at
http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gerard Bik



Joined: 10 Nov 2006
Posts: 353

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 4:05 pm    Post subject: Help with timeline Reply with quote

1000 milliseconds make one second.

1 millisecond is 0.001 seconds.



Quote:
Yes, I am trying to create a pseudo-loop. But it must have some dead space in it to line up with some animation that I am doing. GerardBik seems to have the right idea about inserting silence. But tell me, is ms mili-seconds? Are there 100 or 1000 ms's in a second?


--
______________________ _
Gerard Bik grafische vormgeving
Van Aerssenstraat 263
2582 JM Den Haag
070 3554081

Website: http://www.biknewz.nl
IEDP gecertificeerd
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mustbjones



Joined: 22 Nov 2006
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 6:59 pm    Post subject: Re: Help with timeline Reply with quote

[quote="pm@philxmilstein.com"]If you can make do without silence between cycles of the clip, you might
prefer to manipulate the duration of your soundfile via the Change Pitch and
Speed command, which would allow you to adjust the duration while
maintaining the original pitch.

Alternately, Change Pitch adjusts duration but with the pitch changing
accordingly. This method is easier to use than CP&S, and If the adjustment
is only very slight then the pitch change will likely be virtually
unnoticeable.


--Phil M.

Thank you that is a very interesting (and potentially great) suggestion.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group