Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

-2.147e+0

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:52 am    Post subject: -2.147e+0 Reply with quote

Quote:
I've noticed that a preponderance of soundfiles I work on show, when viewed
in Waveform Statistics, a "minimum RMS power" of -2.147e+0

That's bizarre... Would you mind sending me a small sample file that
exhibits this behaviour? Usually, it should express it in dB, so normal
values are typically roughly between 0dB and -100dB...

RMS stands for "Root Mean Square". Essentially, it averages the power
of the signal over small time chunk (200ms by default) and then tells
you what the power was on the chunk on which it is weakest. The difference
between min. RMS and max. RMS gives you some (very rough) idea
of the dynamics of the sound. Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pm@philxmilstein.com



Joined: 12 Nov 2006
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:43 pm    Post subject: -2.147e+0 Reply with quote

Quote:
I've noticed that a preponderance of soundfiles I work on show, when viewed
in Waveform Statistics, a "minimum RMS power" of -2.147e+0

Martin Hairer wrote:
Quote:
That's bizarre... Would you mind sending me a small sample file that
exhibits this behaviour? Usually, it should express it in dB, so normal
values are typically roughly between 0dB and -100dB...

RMS stands for "Root Mean Square". Essentially, it averages the power
of the signal over small time chunk (200ms by default) and then tells
you what the power was on the chunk on which it is weakest. The difference
between min. RMS and max. RMS gives you some (very rough) idea
of the dynamics of the sound. Regards,

I've put a small sample file for you at http://www.songpoemmusic.com/2147 .
It's only about 10 sec long; let me know if you prefer something longer.
I've also put there a screenshot of a Waveform Statistics (from a different
file than this sample) with the Minimum RMS Power showing "-2.147e+0".

I hadn't realized this was out-of-the-ordinary behavior. It's a very
frequent occurrence for me, and the reason I brought it up here at all was
to try to understand it better, rather than complain about a malfunction.
For the record, Maximum and Average RMS Power for me do typically express in
dB, and come to think of it Minimum does too when it isn't showing
-2.147e+0.

Thanks very much,
--Phil Milstein


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:58 pm    Post subject: -2.147e+0 Reply with quote

Are you using an old version of Amadeus Pro? For me, your sample
shows "normal" values. If I set the RMS window to 100ms, I get
"-inf dB" as the minimum RMS power, which just means that there
is a small bit of total silence. Maybe old versions didn't display that
properly... Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pm@philxmilstein.com



Joined: 12 Nov 2006
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:01 pm    Post subject: -2.147e+0 Reply with quote

Martin Hairer wrote:
Quote:
Are you using an old version of Amadeus Pro? For me, your sample
shows "normal" values. If I set the RMS window to 100ms, I get
"-inf dB" as the minimum RMS power, which just means that there
is a small bit of total silence. Maybe old versions didn't display that
properly... Regards,

Yes, v3.8.7. Fortunately I've not been having any noticeable problem with
this version, so the fact that the info on this Minimum RMS Power has been
misbehaving is not something I really need to try to fix. Perhaps it is
broken in this version, but everything else seems to be working fine, so I
can just ignore it.

Thanks very much,
--Phil M.


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group