Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How do I view more than one audio track

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SteveUK



Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:56 pm    Post subject: How do I view more than one audio track Reply with quote

Hello, I've just downloaded the demo of Amadeus Pro and so far I'm impressed.

I might be missing something, but is it possible to load up a few or more audio files and view them in a row at the same time?

I used to use Sound Forge on PC but I still can't find (until now maybe) a simple audio editor that can (what was called) 'Cascade' the audio.

I'd like to load in a few tracks I want to compare, then at the flick of a switch have them aligned in a row (top to bottom / horizontally).

Thanks, and I hope this hasn't been answered, or even worse, that I shouldn't have asked!

Steve
_________________
iMac 27'' Running Snow Leopard.
Logic 9. Cubase 5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CDJonah_alt



Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 9:25 pm    Post subject: How do I view more than one audio track Reply with quote

Not quite sure what you are saying (hopefully).

Open 1 file in AP.
drag the next file to the window of the file and you now have the
second file also in the same project.
Then you can, as you say, scroll between the multiple tracks and play
them or play with them. The title of the first file is not in the track
name list (but it is the name of the file), the file name of the second
file is in the track list.

Chuck

On 2/19/11 3:11 PM, Thomas Byskov Dalgaard wrote:
Quote:
Hello Steve!

Please bare with me if I am incorrect, but I've only been using Amadeus Pro for about two months.
The lite version does not have multitracking options. I bought the Pro-version myself.
There is a scroll-area. Here you are able to see all the tracks in your project.
At this point Amadeus Pro can not import other files into an existing project. Therefor you will need to open the file first, select the portion you want, copy it with command-c and paste it as another track in your already existing project by pressing option-command-v as in Victor.
If you do interact with the scroll-area mentioned above you will notice that every track doesn't have its own name. This can be typed in by writing in the edit box.
You can solo and mute specific tracks. I have not found a keyboard command for these things, so I use the checkboxes next to the edit box.
You should be able to edit every track by pressing the n key or by choosing the track from that scroll-area. I have not tried these two things yet. But I am going to do this very soon.
Hope this was useful.

Best regards
Thomas
Den 19/02/2011 kl. 21.56 skrev SteveUK:

Quote:
Hello, I've just downloaded the demo of Amadeus Pro and so far I'm impressed.

I might be missing something, but is it possible to load up a few or more audio files and view them in a row at the same time?

I used to use Sound Forge on PC but I still can't find (until now maybe) a simple audio editor that can (what was called) 'Cascade' the audio.

I'd like to load in a few tracks I want to compare, then at the flick of a switch have them aligned in a row (top to bottom / horizontally).

Thanks, and I hope this hasn't been answered, or even worse, that I shouldn't have asked!

Steve

------------------------
iMac 27'' Running Snow Leopard.
Logic 9. Cubase 5.




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SteveUK



Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great you two, that's cleared that one up. Now I can see both tracks like I would see them on a sequencer page in Cubase or Logic.
Perfect!

Got one more question though, How do I view the AU meters though?? Where are they?

Thanks and thanks again!
_________________
iMac 27'' Running Snow Leopard.
Logic 9. Cubase 5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SteveUK



Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry I meant VU meters!
_________________
iMac 27'' Running Snow Leopard.
Logic 9. Cubase 5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CDJonah_alt



Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:41 pm    Post subject: How do I view more than one audio track Reply with quote

Playback controller

On 2/19/11 4:36 PM, SteveUK wrote:
Quote:
Sorry I meant VU meters!

------------------------
iMac 27'' Running Snow Leopard.
Logic 9. Cubase 5.




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SteveUK



Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks CDJonah_alt for the reply.

They don't look very informative meter though. Is there something more in the way of DB metering? With markers? Maybe Vertical?
_________________
iMac 27'' Running Snow Leopard.
Logic 9. Cubase 5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CDJonah_alt



Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 12:00 am    Post subject: How do I view more than one audio track Reply with quote

True,

Normally I just look at the waveform on the screen. If I need to know
real units, I use wave statistics. Not having had a really calibrated
VU meter, I can't say I ever missed it. If I were doing real recording
on the system, I probably would like them but as I normally record using
an external recorder, I haven't found many cases where i need them.

Chuck

On 2/19/11 5:07 PM, SteveUK wrote:
Quote:
Thanks CDJonah_alt for the reply.

They don't look very informative meter though. Is there something more in the way of DB metering? With markers? Maybe Vertical?

------------------------
iMac 27'' Running Snow Leopard.
Logic 9. Cubase 5.




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SteveUK



Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK and thanks Chuck.

I rely on them big style. It's probably a crotch. (Another one).

I'll put another post up. Hate to say it, but Sony Sound forge can't be beat...(For me) .....yet!

Thanks for the reply.

Steve
_________________
iMac 27'' Running Snow Leopard.
Logic 9. Cubase 5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group