Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Crashing bug; AP 1.5.3

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pwg



Joined: 27 Feb 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:23 am    Post subject: Crashing bug; AP 1.5.3 Reply with quote

Whenever I attempt to create a Batch Processor containing both Normalize and AU Multiband Compressor, AP crashes while the compressor configuration dialog is open.

Neither crashes when not in a Batch Processor.

Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:30 am    Post subject: Crashing bug; AP 1.5.3 Reply with quote

Quote:
Whenever I attempt to create a Batch Processor containing both Normalize and AU Multiband Compressor, AP crashes while the compressor configuration dialog is open.

Interesting, actually it seems to be simply the multiband compressor
triggering it (also without normalize). I'll have a look at this ASAP.
Thanks for reporting! Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pwg



Joined: 27 Feb 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:34 pm    Post subject: Re: Crashing bug; AP 1.5.3 Reply with quote

Martin Hairer wrote:
'll have a look at this ASAP.


Thanks Martin. I use AP only occasionally, but when I do, I use it intensively (for voice recording).

Best,

P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 3:03 pm    Post subject: Crashing bug; AP 1.5.3 Reply with quote

Hi, I believe that the version at <http://www.hairersoft.com/Downloads/AmadeusPro.zip>
now fixes this problem. Thanks,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Steve Storz



Joined: 27 Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Location: New mexico

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:17 am    Post subject: Another crashing problem Reply with quote

hi, I'm new here, using a mac. w/ os10.4. I really like this program and I just purchased my second copy of your program and all seemed well until I got a notice a of a new update available. I accepted the download and got a window that told me the download was ready to install and that I could activate it now or at the end of my current session. I chose the later and worked on a new composition. At the end when I hit Save I got a warning that some of the functions would be lost (such as the volume envelope I have made. Sure enough it messed up my work, but saved the main tracks. Now each time I open the program I get the same options. If I tell it to instal Now it closes the program. If I select Install At End of Session it will remain open but will randomly ruin work that i've done. What can i do?


Thanks, Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
CDJonah_alt



Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 3:38 am    Post subject: Crashing bug; AP 1.5.3 Reply with quote

I am fairly sure this is a known problem with 10.4 and 1.5.3. Just stop
AP, go to the website and download the next version. Note, I always do
it this way so I can consistently keep an old version on my machine in
case there is a problem with the new one because I have an ancient
system (10.4.11).

Chuck

On 1/26/11 8:17 PM, Steve Storz wrote:
Quote:
hi, I'm new here, using a mac. w/ os10.4. I really like this program and I just purchased my second copy of your program and all seemed well until I got a notice a of a new update available. I accepted the download and got a window that told me the download was ready to install and that I could activate it now or at the end of my current session. I chose the later and worked on a new composition. At the end when I hit Save I got a warning that some of the functions would be lost (such as the volume envelope I have made. Sure enough it messed up my work, but saved the main tracks. Now each time I open the program I get the same options. If I tell it to instal Now it closes the program. If I select Install At End of Session it will remain open but will randomly ruin work that i've done. What can i do?


Thanks, Steve




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Steve Storz



Joined: 27 Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Location: New mexico

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Crashing bug; AP 1.5.3 Reply with quote

Chuck,

Thanks for the message. I tried your suggestion. I see that version 1.5.4 appeared in my applications but when I try to open it I still get the same message that it is trying to install 1.5.3. I moved all of my older versions to trash and tried again- same result. I will try shutting down and re-booting to see if that helps. If you have any other ideas I'd be grateful.

Steve

CDJonah_alt wrote:
I am fairly sure this is a known problem with 10.4 and 1.5.3. Just stop
AP, go to the website and download the next version. Note, I always do
it this way so I can consistently keep an old version on my machine in
case there is a problem with the new one because I have an ancient
system (10.4.11).

Chuck

On 1/26/11 8:17 PM, Steve Storz wrote:
Quote:
hi, I'm new here, using a mac. w/ os10.4. I really like this program and I just purchased my second copy of your program and all seemed well until I got a notice a of a new update available. I accepted the download and got a window that told me the download was ready to install and that I could activate it now or at the end of my current session. I chose the later and worked on a new composition. At the end when I hit Save I got a warning that some of the functions would be lost (such as the volume envelope I have made. Sure enough it messed up my work, but saved the main tracks. Now each time I open the program I get the same options. If I tell it to instal Now it closes the program. If I select Install At End of Session it will remain open but will randomly ruin work that i've done. What can i do?


Thanks, Steve




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 5:02 pm    Post subject: Crashing bug; AP 1.5.3 Reply with quote

Trash the prefs (com.HairerSoft.AmadeusPro.plist in Library/Preferences), this
should fix it. Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/



_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Steve Storz



Joined: 27 Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Location: New mexico

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 5:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Crashing bug; AP 1.5.3 Reply with quote

Martin,

Thanks for the reply. I got the 1.5.4 version to install after I re-booted and your suggestion about the lib/prefs (though I only found it by doing a Finder search, couldn't see it when opening the HD) got rid of the "install" window. many thanks. I'm looking forward to getting on with my sound art. Have been recommending this program to lots of sound artists.

Best wishes,
Steve S.


Martin Hairer wrote:
Trash the prefs (com.HairerSoft.AmadeusPro.plist in Library/Preferences), this
should fix it. Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/



_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Steve Storz



Joined: 27 Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Location: New mexico

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 5:57 pm    Post subject: Re: Crashing bug; AP 1.5.3 Reply with quote

Chuck,

Re-boot worked and I got the message for the "install" window to stop by doing what Martin suggested below. Many thanks. I hope this helps other too.

Steve

Steve Storz wrote:
Chuck,

Thanks for the message. I tried your suggestion. I see that version 1.5.4 appeared in my applications but when I try to open it I still get the same message that it is trying to install 1.5.3. I moved all of my older versions to trash and tried again- same result. I will try shutting down and re-booting to see if that helps. If you have any other ideas I'd be grateful.

Steve

CDJonah_alt wrote:
I am fairly sure this is a known problem with 10.4 and 1.5.3. Just stop
AP, go to the website and download the next version. Note, I always do
it this way so I can consistently keep an old version on my machine in
case there is a problem with the new one because I have an ancient
system (10.4.11).

Chuck

On 1/26/11 8:17 PM, Steve Storz wrote:
Quote:
hi, I'm new here, using a mac. w/ os10.4. I really like this program and I just purchased my second copy of your program and all seemed well until I got a notice a of a new update available. I accepted the download and got a window that told me the download was ready to install and that I could activate it now or at the end of my current session. I chose the later and worked on a new composition. At the end when I hit Save I got a warning that some of the functions would be lost (such as the volume envelope I have made. Sure enough it messed up my work, but saved the main tracks. Now each time I open the program I get the same options. If I tell it to instal Now it closes the program. If I select Install At End of Session it will remain open but will randomly ruin work that i've done. What can i do?


Thanks, Steve




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group