Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Persistent Installation Dialog Box

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bull



Joined: 08 Jun 2010
Posts: 39
Location: Blacksburg, Virginia

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:18 pm    Post subject: Persistent Installation Dialog Box Reply with quote

When I started AP this morning I was offered the option to upgrade to 1.5.2. I clicked the download and install now. AP quit, started up again with dialog "Amadeus Pro 1.5.2 has been downloaded and is ready to be installed." Clicked Install Now. AP quit and nothing happened. Started manually, got the same Dialog. Clicked the other option (Install when I quit...) and then quit. Nothing happened. Downloaded 1.5.2 and manually installed. OK, now version says 1.5.2 (858). But every time I start AP I get the same dialog. How do I make it go away and stay away?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:27 pm    Post subject: Persistent Installation Dialog Box Reply with quote

Quote:
How do I make it go away and stay away?

The easiest thing is to delete the prefs:

Library/Preferences/com.HairerSoft.AmadeusPro.plist

This will destroy your settings though. The less invasive option is to double-click
that file and to just delete the line that starts with HSInstallNewApplicationLocation.
Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Charles Slater



Joined: 08 Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Location: Bowral, NSW, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Bull for submitting this query and of course thanks martin for your response.

I was experiencing exactly the same problem myself.
_________________
Charles Slater (Australia)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ryckeboerg



Joined: 04 Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Location: French Flandrers

PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks too ! Smile

(exactly same problem)
_________________
Gege
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stefano Fonzarelli



Joined: 09 Nov 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Martin, I followed your advice of deleting the plist-item. This rendered me with an unregistered version. So I looked up my registration data and re-entered them. Much to my surprise the annoying pop-up was back. Sad

I also discovered through "About Amadeus Pro" in the menu, that it was still 1.5.1 !!! So I had never updated, after choosing "update now". Sad

I told Amadeus in the preferences to check for the update again, repeating the whole procedure. The result was still the same, even after logging out of OSX and back in again, and then restarting Amadeus. Sad

Idea So I finally decided to download a copy of Amadeus Pro 1.5.2 manually through your website. Now I am half-way there. My Amadeus Pro has been updated to 1.5.2, but I still get the annoying pop-up telling me the otherwise.


I decided to switch-off automatic updating in preferences altogether. But this should not be the definitive solution, and still I keep geeting the pop-up on startup. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 8:18 pm    Post subject: Persistent Installation Dialog Box Reply with quote

Quote:
[Idea] So I finally decided to download a copy of Amadeus Pro 1.5.2 manually through your website. Now I am half-way there. My Amadeus Pro has been updated to 1.5.2, but I still get the annoying pop-up telling me the otherwise.

Have you tried deleting the plist again? That should work...

Quote:
I decided to switch-off automatic updating in preferences altogether. But this should not be the definitive solution, and still I keep geeting the pop-up on startup. Sad

Version 1.5.2 should behave properly for the next upgrade. The problem was
that Apple changed the default setting of their compiler recently, so that by default
code wouldn't run on G4 machines. The updater program was then compiled with
the wrong settings, thus the crashes... Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 8:39 pm    Post subject: Persistent Installation Dialog Box Reply with quote

Sorry, I got that slightly wrong. The updater is still compiled with the wrong
settings in 1.5.2, but will be fixed in 1.5.3. So those of you running on a G4
will still have the same problem upgrading to 1.5.3. Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Stefano Fonzarelli



Joined: 09 Nov 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your swift reply and please, do keep G4 versions coming when you put out new releases! Very Happy

I'm very impressed with your software so far. As a pro I am really impressed with it's capabilities. Amadeus Pro concentrates fully on (high quality) audio with the option of VST-plugins, but without being 'big' and 'complicated'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group