Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Playback problem with 1.4.5 - HELP!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SwedishChris



Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:36 am    Post subject: Playback problem with 1.4.5 - HELP! Reply with quote

Hi! I just updated to Amadeus Pro 1.4.5 on SnowLeopard 10.6.2, and for some reason I can't press play. The program seems to accept the "space bar" command (Play button turns to Stop button) but the file doesn't start playing. Neither does it start recording when I press Record. Any ideas??? Have I accidentally changed something?
_________________
SwedishChris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jackwood



Joined: 27 Nov 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've used Amadeus II and Amadeus Pro for years and it's a great audio editing program. But...

I'm having the same problem with 10.5.8 on a very nice Hackintosh I built. I can't get any audio out of Amadeus since it can't play back files or record. Yet- Audacity works just fine.

Could this be a problem with 1.4.5? Is it possible to download previous versions somewhere?

I appreciate your answer and thank you for them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:55 pm    Post subject: Playback problem with 1.4.5 - HELP! Reply with quote

Quote:
Could this be a problem with 1.4.5?

I doubt it; the playback functions haven't changed... Do you get an error message in the console when you try to start playing back? Also, do the "Preview" functions of the sound effects work or do they also remain silent?

Quote:
Is it possible to download previous versions somewhere?

You can get 1.4.3 at <http://www.hairersoft.com/Archives/AmadeusPro_1_4_3/AmadeusPro.zip>.
Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jackwood



Joined: 27 Nov 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 8:20 pm    Post subject: Re: Playback problem with 1.4.5 - HELP! Reply with quote

Thank you for your response! I tried 1.4.3 and I still get the same results. I press either the play button, the space bar, or even the record button and nothing happens.

Also, when I try the effects previews, like you suggested, I still get nothing. I tried amplify, normalize, swap channels. No success at all. I'm not sure that this is a problem with Core Audio because I can get sound with iTunes and Audacity. A strange problem.

[quote="Martin Hairer"]
Quote:
Could this be a problem with 1.4.5?

I doubt it; the playback functions haven't changed... Do you get an error message in the console when you try to start playing back? Also, do the "Preview" functions of the sound effects work or do they also remain silent?

[
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 2:16 am    Post subject: Playback problem with 1.4.5 - HELP! Reply with quote

Quote:
Also, when I try the effects previews, like you suggested, I still get nothing. I tried amplify, normalize, swap channels. No success at all.

I don't understand. These are precisely the effects that don't actually have a preview function.... I was thinking about the Audio Units (for example) where you have a "Preview" button in the effect window.

Quote:
I'm not sure that this is a problem with Core Audio because I can get sound with iTunes and Audacity.

Again, do you get an error message in the console when you try to start playback? Also, could you try to start it, open the activity monitor (in Applications/Utilities), select Amadeus Pro, hit "Sample Process" and send me the report it generates? Thanks,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jackwood



Joined: 27 Nov 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 5:36 am    Post subject: Re: Playback problem with 1.4.5 - HELP! Reply with quote

I was able to do this finally-

I used the change pitch/speed preview, and I was able to get it to play. I tried to save the file after I changed the pitched and it crashed when the progress bar went to the very end. I force quit the program and it asked me if I wanted to send a report to you, but it didn't have anything to send to you.

[quote="Martin Hairer"]
Quote:
I don't understand. These are precisely the effects that don't actually have a preview function.... I was thinking about the Audio Units (for example) where you have a "Preview" button in the effect window.


I have the report from the Sample Process- should I just e-mail it to you?

Quote:
Again, do you get an error message in the console when you try to start playback? Also, could you try to start it, open the activity monitor (in Applications/Utilities), select Amadeus Pro, hit "Sample Process" and send me the report it generates? Thanks,


I appreciate your attention! Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 2:02 pm    Post subject: Playback problem with 1.4.5 - HELP! Reply with quote

Quote:
I have the report from the Sample Process- should I just e-mail it to you?

Yes, please. Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group