Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Saving as MP3 -- bitrate setting

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tzimoski



Joined: 11 Nov 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 8:09 pm    Post subject: Saving as MP3 -- bitrate setting Reply with quote

Amadeus Pro Version 1.5.5 (1202) OSX 10.9.5

The last two days I've had this problem:

I edit an m4a file, converting it to mono and inserting a number of markers. I then want to split the file according to the markers and save as mp3's. When I click on settings the bitrate is set at 256. I would like to change that but the 256 is grayed out and I can't make the change.

I don't think I've ever changed the other settings from what I believe to be their defaults.

When I try to save the file as an mp3 without splitting it I have the same problem. The bitrate setting is grayed out and I cannot change it.

Thanks for your attention.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1613

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 9:45 am    Post subject: Saving as MP3 -- bitrate setting Reply with quote

Quote:
When I click on settings the bitrate is set at 256. I would like to change that but the 256 is grayed out and I can't make the change.

Are you using VBR (variable bitrate)? This mode can only take a quality target as input and not a fixed bitrate. If you have to aim for a fixed bitrate (which is usually not such a good idea, but you may have reasons for it), just use CBR (constant bitrate) instead.
Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
tzimoski



Joined: 11 Nov 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that was the problem. It makes sense, even to me, that you can't select "variable bit rate" and then try to select a specific bit rate.

It's just that I don't remember doing anything with the default variable/constant/average bitrate setting in the past - but maybe I did.

In any case my problem is solved. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JEGG



Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2014 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tzimoski wrote:
Yes, that was the problem. It makes sense, even to me, that you can't select "variable bit rate" and then try to select a specific bit rate.

It's just that I don't remember doing anything with the default variable/constant/average bitrate setting in the past - but maybe I did.

In any case my problem is solved. Thank you.


You should have access to variable and CBR specific rates and targets rather than arbitrary quality settings.

Try another application, probably iTunes will do it (I haven't checked) or something like Codec Toolbox, which is what I use, or WireTap Studio, or many others.

If you're streaming material from a site, there are some good reasons to use CBR, but that's beyond the scope, here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group