Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Effects > Change Pitch and Speed not functioning?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cd2go



Joined: 09 Feb 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2014 9:07 pm    Post subject: Effects > Change Pitch and Speed not functioning? Reply with quote

Hey all,

Using the latest version 2.1.5:

I'm trying to sync 2 separate stereo recordings from 2 different recorders so there is some digital drift between the two sources. Last time I did this I believe I had the previous version of AP and it was super easy, no problems.

Workflow:

Aligned tracks at beginning, then went to the end and found a sync point on each of the sources, about half a second drift after 2 hours.

Then I used Effects > Change Pitch and Speed and set the resulting length of the longer file to be the same as the shorter one. simple. done.

But now when I do this, it still changes the resulting length of the selection, but produces a solid block of wave sound that is 100% clipped and actually doesn't even have a sound when you play it. I've tried it every way I think, locking/unlocking pitch and speed, etc. Maybe just a program bug? It seems any combination yields a solid block of unusable sound Crying or Very sad

Any advice greatly appreciated,
James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1613

PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 12:34 pm    Post subject: Effects > Change Pitch and Speed not functioning? Reply with quote

Weird… Would you be able to send me a Dropbox link to the file in question? (The Amadeus Pro file with the multitrack structure intact.) Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/



_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
cd2go



Joined: 09 Feb 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Effects > Change Pitch and Speed not functioning? Reply with quote

Martin Hairer wrote:
Weird… Would you be able to send me a Dropbox link to the file in question?


Thanks for responding Smile

I can do that but---it also happens even with a single stereo track: any attempt at changing the speed or resulting length has the same strange wav block. I have tried it with 2 hour files and 2 minute files, same thing. Would you like a screenshot of the resulting wave? I should say this is with 24/48 files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cd2go



Joined: 09 Feb 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried separating the stereo track into two mono tracks then changed the speed of each respectively; it worked. Then I can just merge them back as a workaround for now...

Also, would it make sense to allow 3 decimal places, i.e. 100.059% for this function, as the maximum resolution in m'sec''ms is 3 places...?

-james
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group