Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Clicks after pitching/tempo change

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jdb



Joined: 12 Jan 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 12:12 pm    Post subject: Clicks after pitching/tempo change Reply with quote

I really enjoy Amadeus Pro as my favourite Editing App. Have my shortcuts all set up nicely, excellent workflow so far. (Logic and Audition are too sophisticated for the simple tasks I like to do with Amadeus.)

But I have realized one annoying problem:
When I edit Pitch and Tempo, let's say ...
Code:
Tempo: 89,1%, Pitch: -2 (halftone mode)

... I get a few clicks all over the track.
So now I have to check all the tracks, which I have edited the last months, for flaws/clicks and repair/interpolate the bits.

Is that a common problem with pitch/tempo-algorithms?

I would prefer not to scan for clicks and interpolate each pitched track.

What is your experience on that and what would you suggest Mr. Hairer.

With best regards,
jdb[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jim Edgar



Joined: 01 Mar 2010
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 5:11 pm    Post subject: Clicks after pitching/tempo change Reply with quote

Depending upon your budget and needs, there is an exceptionally powerful audio repair tool which will work as a plug-in. Izotope RX. It's not cheap, but it's better than spending hours reviewing tracks. A lot of audiobook VO's use it to assist in declicking or removing extraneous mouth noises - http://www.izotope.com/products/audio/rx/


I don't know if it would help in your situation, but unless you can quantify and automate the fix so you can use the Batch Processor, it's hard to do anything but a brute-force hack.



There is a limited period trial download version available on the site. 


- Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 7:28 pm    Post subject: Clicks after pitching/tempo change Reply with quote

I am afraid that Apple’s pitch-shifting algorithm (which is what Amadeus uses) isn’t always that great at its job. In particular, it does seem to create these pops in some cases. In your situation however, slowing the sound down to 89% without doing anything else would induce a pitch-shift of almost exactly 2 half-tones anyway, so you’re probably better off selecting the “Lock” checkbox which turns off pitch-shifting altogether. Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/



_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jdb



Joined: 12 Jan 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 7:49 pm    Post subject: Re: Clicks after pitching/tempo change Reply with quote

Jim Edgar wrote:
Izotope RX.

Sound interesting, but I'm not working on soundbooks, but on solo instrumentals mostly.
I have the plug-in Izotope Radius in Adobe's Audition. Is it the same as the Izotope RX or a predecessor maybe?

Martin Hairer wrote:
I am afraid that Apple’s pitch-shifting algorithm (which is what Amadeus uses) isn’t always that great at its job. In particular, it does seem to create these pops in some cases. In your situation however, slowing the sound down to 89% without doing anything else would induce a pitch-shift of almost exactly 2 half-tones anyway, so you’re probably better off selecting the “Lock” checkbox which turns off pitch-shifting altogether.

Thanks for the particular info about Apple's plug-in. Most tracks get a few clicks/pops, others do not at all...strange...
The lock checkbox is always active, because it's exactly two halftones that I want to go "down".[/i]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jim Edgar



Joined: 01 Mar 2010
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 8:08 pm    Post subject: Clicks after pitching/tempo change Reply with quote

Well - I figured that Clicks is Clicks...

And you could experiment with the free download before full purchase. Not familiar with Radius. They have some amazingly effective algorithms, though.

hope that helps,

- Jim

--
sent from some phone



Quote:
On Jan 12, 2014, at 11:49 AM, jdb <forum2mail@hairersoft.com> wrote:


Jim Edgar wrote:
Quote:
Izotope RX.

Sound interesting, but I'm not working on soundbooks, but on solo instrumentals mostly.
I have the plug-in Izotope Radius in Adobe's Audition. Is it the same as the Izotope RX or a predecessor maybe?


Martin Hairer wrote:
Quote:
I am afraid that Apple’s pitch-shifting algorithm (which is what Amadeus uses) isn’t always that great at its job. In particular, it does seem to create these pops in some cases. In your situation however, slowing the sound down to 89% without doing anything else would induce a pitch-shift of almost exactly 2 half-tones anyway, so you’re probably better off selecting the “Lock” checkbox which turns off pitch-shifting altogether.

Thanks for the particular info about Apple's plug-in. Most tracks get a few clicks/pops, others do not at all...strange...
The lock checkbox is always active, because it's exactly two halftones that I want to go "down".[/i]




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jdb



Joined: 12 Jan 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 10:08 pm    Post subject: Re: Clicks after pitching/tempo change Reply with quote

Jim Edgar wrote:
Well - I figured that Clicks is Clicks...

Oh, now I see... I was thinking about pitching all the time – not (de-)clicking... Thanks anyway!
The plug-in Izotope Radius is a pitch plug-in in Adobe Audition, while the Izotope RX is for repair/restoration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 8:43 am    Post subject: Clicks after pitching/tempo change Reply with quote

Quote:
The lock checkbox is always active

Now that’s weird, with the lock checkbox active there shouldn’t be any artifacts. Would it be possible to send me a “before” and “after” file as well as the precise settings used to produce it? Also, are you using the latest version (2.1.5)? Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/



_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jdb



Joined: 12 Jan 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 5:52 pm    Post subject: Re: Clicks after pitching/tempo change Reply with quote

Martin Hairer wrote:

Quote:
The lock checkbox is always active

Would it be possible to send me a “before” and “after” file as well as the precise settings used to produce it?

I have prepared an .zip-Archive for that which contains all the info. Please see your PM with the following subject:
Code:
pitch > click error
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jdb



Joined: 12 Jan 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear Mr. Hairer,

do you have any news on the matter?

Up to now I have been going on using Adobe Audition, because its pitch/tempo algorithm doesn't produce artefacts. But I can not export lossless m4a alac from Audition !! (though I can read/open it). What did I pay Adobe for? It's all very strange ...

I would really like to go back to Amadeus Pro, it's definitely my favourite Audio tool. Can you fix this whole pitch-click-error thing?

With best regards,
jdb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ayesha



Joined: 06 Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Location: Thailand

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 9:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ave to check all the tracks, which I have edited the last months, for flaws/clicks and repair/interpolate the bits. ................
_________________
aashi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
jdb



Joined: 12 Jan 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ayesha wrote:
ave to check all the tracks, which I have edited the last months, for flaws/clicks and repair/interpolate the bits. ................

'got the same problem. Lucky me, I have marked all of them. so no searching, just working Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group