Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

"Disk cannot be ejected … Amadeus Pro using it".

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jerrykrinock



Joined: 27 May 2013
Posts: 11
Location: San José, CA, USA

PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2013 2:34 pm    Post subject: "Disk cannot be ejected … Amadeus Pro using it". Reply with quote

Mac OS X 10.8 told me that a disk could not be ejected because Amadeus Pro was using it, even though Amadeus Pro 2.1.3 had no windows open.



I use Jettison to eject disks when I close the lid of my mid 2012 MacBook Air, and that is what initiated the problem today. However, I just tried to eject the disk using Finder, and it gave me the same message. In case anyone can respond to this message within the next couple hours with a test I should try, I'm going to leave Amadeus Pro running and this disk connected.

Yesterday, I'd launched Amadeus Pro and opened a .wma file on a Olympus DS-40 voice recorder mounted via USB. But that window had been closed for at least a few minutes, and also I had ejected the Olympus DS-40, before I closed the lid, went to bed, and this morning found that Jettison failed to eject the disk. Furthermore, the disk "TM2-2" (one of two partitions in TM2, a USB-connected 2.5 inch 500 GB hard drive), which "cannot be ejected" is in fact my Time Machine disk. I did not open any files from my TM2 or TM2-2 in Amadeus Pro yesterday.

I have never seen any other app implicated in one of these "failed to eject" dialogs. Only Amadeus Pro 1 or 2.

Accidental unpluggings of mounted disks can cause Time Machine or internal HD corruption. I had to spend an hour or so fixing some of this last week, and so I was hoping that this issue would be resolved when I upgraded from Amadeus Pro version 1 to 2, but it happened again yesterday and I hope there is a fix or workaround for this.

Thanks!

Jerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jerrykrinock



Joined: 27 May 2013
Posts: 11
Location: San José, CA, USA

PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2013 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I changed my plans. My Time Machine Drive is still connected, and Mac OS X still seems to think that Amadeus Pro needs it for some reason. I can leave it like this for the day or two. I will be happy to perform any tests needed to determine what is causing this behavior.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dinojrx



Joined: 11 Nov 2009
Posts: 78
Location: Berlin / Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 11:17 am    Post subject: "Disk cannot be ejected Amadeus Pro using it". B Reply with quote

Did you try removing and reinstalling AP? Maybe the binary is not in the right place. It should be placed in the Applications-folder.

Regards Jan

Am 28.05.2013 um 13:00 schrieb jerrykrinock <forum2mail@hairersoft.com>:

Quote:
Mac OS X 10.8 told me that a disk could not be ejected because Amadeus Pro was using it, even though Amadeus Pro 2.1.3 had no windows open.

(http://www.phpbb.com/)

I use Jettison (http://www.stclairsoft.com/Jettison/) to eject disks when I close the lid of my mid 2012 MacBook Air, and that is what initiated the problem today. However, I just tried to eject the disk using Finder, and it gave me the same message. In case anyone can respond to this message within the next couple hours with a test I should try, I'm going to leave Amadeus Pro running and this disk connected.

Yesterday, I'd launched Amadeus Pro and opened a .wma file on a Olympus DS-40 voice recorder mounted via USB. But that window had been closed for at least a few minutes, and also I had ejected the Olympus DS-40, before I closed the lid, went to bed, and this morning found that Jettison failed to eject the disk. Furthermore, the disk "TM2-2" (one of two partitions in TM2, a USB-connected 2.5 inch 500 GB hard drive), which "cannot be ejected" is in fact my Time Machine disk. I did not open any files from my TM2 or TM2-2 in Amadeus Pro yesterday.

I have never seen any other app implicated in one of these "failed to eject" dialogs. Only Amadeus Pro 1 or 2.

Accidental unpluggings of mounted disks can cause Time Machine or internal HD corruption. I had to spend an hour or so fixing some of this last week, and so I was hoping that this issue would be resolved when I upgraded from Amadeus Pro version 1 to 2, but it happened again yesterday and I hope there is a fix or workaround for this.

Thanks!

Jerry




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jerrykrinock



Joined: 27 May 2013
Posts: 11
Location: San José, CA, USA

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 2:04 pm    Post subject: Re: "Disk cannot be ejected Amadeus Pro using it" Reply with quote

dinojrx wrote:
Did you try removing and reinstalling AP? Maybe the binary is not in the right place. It should be placed in the Applications-folder.
Thank you, Jan. No, that's not the problem. AP was reinstalled when I updated to AP version 2. It is in /Applications.

I'm still leaving this computer running, and it's still doing it now every time I or Jettison try to eject my Time Machine Disk.

I'm still waiting for a test to do, fix or workaround.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 11:15 pm    Post subject: "Disk cannot be ejected … Amadeus Pro using it". B Reply with quote

It sounds like that disk is being used by Amadeus Pro for its temporary files (this would be the case by default if this is the disk with the largest amount of free space). You can change this in the preferences.
Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/



_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Sarah Alawami
Guest





PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 11:22 pm    Post subject: "Disk cannot be ejected � Amadeus Pro using it". Reply with quote

Change your temp disk in amadeus. It will allocate to the largest temp disk there is, in my case a 2 tb drive that is not used for time mating.

Take care.
On May 28, 2013, at 7:04 AM, jerrykrinock <forum2mail@hairersoft.com> wrote:

Quote:

dinojrx wrote:
Quote:
Did you try removing and reinstalling AP? Maybe the binary is not in the right place. It should be placed in the Applications-folder.
Thank you, Jan. No, that's not the problem. AP was reinstalled when I updated to AP version 2. It is in /Applications.

I'm still leaving this computer running, and it's still doing it now every time I or Jettison try to eject my Time Machine Disk.

I'm still waiting for a test to do, fix or workaround.




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
Ray Foret Jr
Guest





PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 11:22 pm    Post subject: "Disk cannot be ejected … Amadeus Pro using it". B Reply with quote

I would have to agree with Martain on this one.


Sent from my mac, the only computer with full accessibility for the blind built-in!
Sincerely,
The Constantly Barefooted Ray
Still a very proud and happy Mac and Iphone user!







On May 28, 2013, at 6:15 PM, Martin Hairer <Martin@HairerSoft.com (Martin@HairerSoft.com)> wrote:
Quote:
It sounds like that disk is being used by Amadeus Pro for its temporary files (this would be the case by default if this is the disk with the largest amount of free space). You can change this in the preferences.
Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/



_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
jerrykrinock



Joined: 27 May 2013
Posts: 11
Location: San José, CA, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, guys. Your three replies are all plausible. My Time Machine disk was selected as the Volume for Temporary Files. Amadeus Pro is still "using" my Time Machine Disk after changing it, but that's probably because it already has temporary files open from before (weird, because no documents are open, but, oh, well).

Anyhow, I expect this will not happen again after I relaunch Amadeus Pro.

Martin, you might think about changing the default behavior, because as more people get these MacBook Airs with fast but small SSD memory that we keep near full, more people might re-discover the issue, and the cause is not at all obvious.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 4:33 pm    Post subject: "Disk cannot be ejected … Amadeus Pro using it". Reply with quote

Quote:
Martin, you might think about changing the default behavior, because as more people get these MacBook Airs with fast but small SSD memory that we keep near full, more people might re-discover the issue, and the cause is not at all obvious.

Not too clear what the "correct" default behaviour should be though? If I just use the boot disk by default (which is the safest option), then the space issue might become a concern, especially if people use it to edit huge multi-GB files that reside on an external drive (not an uncommon scenario)... Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/



_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jerrykrinock



Joined: 27 May 2013
Posts: 11
Location: San José, CA, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that's why I said you should think about it Very Happy Maybe watch for will-eject notifications and ask user what to do if you've got temp files open on it. Or maybe be more aggressive about closing temporary files. When this happened two days ago, I had closed all open documents in Amadeus Pro hours ago, so there should not have been any large data to hang onto, unless maybe clipboard contents. But maybe we don't need that.

You're a smart guy and you'll figure something out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group