Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Possible change in dialog box

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
CDJonah_alt



Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:40 am    Post subject: Possible change in dialog box Reply with quote

Is there space in the normalize dialog box to put "not recommended" or
"expert only" on normalizing to rms value? I am certain a large number
of people have been led astray. I can think of places where the command
might be convenient (in particular for balancing levels for a CD -- but
to do that effectively one has to previously measure the difference
between the peak and rms values for all the tracks in advance and then
select the appropriate rms value so nothing clips), but warning a new
user not to do it may save some grief.

Chuck
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 8:52 am    Post subject: Possible change in dialog box Reply with quote

Quote:
Is there space in the normalize dialog box to put "not recommended" or "expert only" on normalizing to rms value? I am certain a large number of people have been led astray. I can think of places where the command might be convenient (in particular for balancing levels for a CD -- but to do that effectively one has to previously measure the difference between the peak and rms values for all the tracks in advance and then select the appropriate rms value so nothing clips), but warning a new user not to do it may save some grief.

Yes, that's a good idea. Maybe, instead of relabelling the dialog, I will show
a warning the first time a user tries to apply normalisation with "RMS" selected.
(A bit like what happens when you use the "Import Raw Data" function for the
first time. You wouldn't believe how many people tried to open their Mp3 files
with that function and were surprised when all they were getting was noise...)
Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
MartinC



Joined: 15 Oct 2009
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Even better would be an "avoid clipping" checkbox that adds an extra scan for the maximum peak and cuts the RMS normalization to the hugest possible value (up to the requested level, of course).

Audacity actually does this in the "Amplify" filter, it shows the new maximum peak, so you "see what you get".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group