Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Problem Converting to WMA Format

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SJP



Joined: 20 Jun 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 4:45 pm    Post subject: Problem Converting to WMA Format Reply with quote

I recently purchased AmadeusPro at the Mac App Store and am using it on my MacBook Air - Latest version OS, computer, etc. The first thing I tried to do was to convert an MP3 file to a WMA. I loaded the MP3 into AmadeusPro and hit the play button and all was well. I then selected the option to Save As and selected Windows Media Audio (WMA) format. A little yellow triangle with an exclamation point appeared but the message simply said that some of the meta data would be lost but would not effect the audio file. The file was saved to the desktop. I then exited AmadeusPro and ran it again. I loaded the .wma file and immediately noticed that the graphics for the sound waves were very odd, very small and clinging to the top or bottom of the track windows rather than nicely spread out like the MP3 was. I played it and got a high pitch static sound with no music at all. I converted the same file from MP3 to MP4 and it was perfect, as was it with several other formats, but not with WMA. I tried it several times with several different files, all yielding the same result. Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:12 am    Post subject: Problem Converting to WMA Format Reply with quote

Hi, there seems to be a bug in this function when the sound file is
not 16 bit. To circumvent it, click on the bottom left corner of the sound
window (where it displays something like 32 bit / 44.1 kHz) and change
the bitdepth to 16 bit before saving.

I'll try to fix this for the next update. Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/



_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pogmoor



Joined: 08 Nov 2016
Posts: 3
Location: Oxfordshire UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have resurrected this old thread because I am getting the same problem in AP 2.3.1 on OS X 10.12.1. This time, however, the problem does occur with 16 bit files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 10:12 pm    Post subject: Problem Converting to WMA Format Reply with quote

Hi, I haven't been able to reproduce this. Could you please give me a sequence of elementary steps I can reproduce to cause this behaviour? Thanks,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 10:12 pm    Post subject: Problem Converting to WMA Format Reply with quote

Hi, I haven't been able to reproduce this. Could you please give me a sequence of elementary steps I can reproduce to cause this behaviour? Thanks,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pogmoor



Joined: 08 Nov 2016
Posts: 3
Location: Oxfordshire UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Open 16 bit MPEG-4 file in Amadeus Pro. Save as WMA file (file looks ok at this point). Close AP window (or quit AP). Open the saved WMA file in AP. Resulting waveform entirely filled with static.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ray Foret jr
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 2:23 am    Post subject: Problem Converting to WMA Format Reply with quote

With me, this does not happen. IF you check your advanced tab in prefs, you might find a setting which allows you to determin whether or not a file opens up as a 32 floating bit file. IF you uncheck this , that should solve your problem.
Sent from my Mac, The Only computer with full accessibility for the blind built-in
Sincerely, The Constantly Barefooted Ray,Still a very happy Comcast XFinity Voice Guidance, Mac, Verizon Wireless iPhone7+ and Apple TV user!






Quote:
On Nov 8, 2016, at 5:49 PM, pogmoor <forum2mail@hairersoft.com (forum2mail@hairersoft.com)> wrote:
Open 16 bit MPEG-4 file in Amadeus Pro. Save as WMA file (file looks ok at this point). Close AP window (or quit AP). Open the saved WMA file in AP. Resulting waveform entirely filled with static.

Back to top
pogmoor



Joined: 08 Nov 2016
Posts: 3
Location: Oxfordshire UK

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the suggestion. I can only find "Open compressed files as 32-bit floats". Unchecking this option seems to make no difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 9:10 am    Post subject: Problem Converting to WMA Format Reply with quote

Quote:
Open 16 bit MPEG-4 file in Amadeus Pro. Save as WMA file (file looks ok at this point). Close AP window (or quit AP). Open the saved WMA file in AP. Resulting waveform entirely filled with static.

Could you please send me a link (maybe off-list) to an MPEG-4 file causing this behaviour? I still cannot reproduce it. Thanks,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group