Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Apply Effects In Real Time?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Shotster



Joined: 25 Jul 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 8:48 pm    Post subject: Apply Effects In Real Time? Reply with quote

Greetings,

I just discovered this application, and I'd buy it in a heartbeat if I could apply AU effects to the audio in real time like I can do in Garage Band. Is this possible now with Amadeus? I can't figure out how! If not, consider this a feature request!

The quest continues...

Thanks,

-Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shotster



Joined: 25 Jul 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, Audio Hijack allows for real-time effects as well, but it doesn't have the real-time graphical displays of the data. Any chance real-time effects will be added any time soon?

-Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CDJonah_alt



Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 8:29 pm    Post subject: Apply Effects In Real Time? Reply with quote

Does this mean applying effects while recording? If so, I can see many
reasons that one would not want to do it.

The data come in as analog data that are converted to digital; there is
no more information there. If you put an effect on it before saving it
1) You throw away information
2) If the record level is too high, the gain in the effect my disguise
it by decreasing the signal.
3) If you mis-set the effect, you can clip the data and you don't have
the original data to go back to.
If you put an analog effect in ahead of the A-D converter, you might
compress the data and allow a better recording, but after going into the
computer, all you can do is throw information away. You can apply the
effect later and if you don't like it you can go bac.

Chuck

Shotster wrote:
Quote:
Actually, Audio Hijack allows for real-time effects as well, but it doesn't have the real-time graphical displays of the data. Any chance real-time effects will be added any time soon?

-Steve




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shotster



Joined: 25 Jul 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 9:09 pm    Post subject: Re: Apply Effects In Real Time? Reply with quote

CDJonah_alt wrote:
Does this mean applying effects while recording? If so, I can see many
reasons that one would not want to do it.

for my current needs, I don't need to record at a all. I just need to apply effects in real time like you can do in GarageBand, Audio Hijack, etc. This is typically done with a "Play Thru" or "Monitor" feature.

-Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CDJonah_alt



Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 9:27 pm    Post subject: Apply Effects In Real Time? Reply with quote

Why not just select the whole thing and apply the effect? It will be
much faster than in real time.

Chuck

Shotster wrote:
Quote:
CDJonah_alt wrote:

Quote:
Does this mean applying effects while recording? If so, I can see many
reasons that one would not want to do it.


for my current needs, I don't need to record at a all. I just need to apply effects in real time like you can do in GarageBand, Audio Hijack, etc. This is typically done with a "Play Thru" or "Monitor" feature.

-Steve




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shotster



Joined: 25 Jul 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Apply Effects In Real Time? Reply with quote

CDJonah_alt wrote:
Why not just select the whole thing and apply the effect? It will be
much faster than in real time.

It's the real-time aspect that is precisely what I want. I want to modify my voice in real time. Recording is not an option for my needs.

-Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrEes



Joined: 10 Nov 2006
Posts: 64
Location: Finger Lakes, NY, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:25 pm    Post subject: Apply Effects In Real Time? Reply with quote

Look at Rax. http://audiofile-engineering.com/rax/

m.
--
Michael Rees
Composer &c. <http://soundsgrate.net>
<http://herelephant.blogspot.com>

I have to hate you, she said.
You know too much about me to be
trusted.

On Jul 28, 2009, at 5:09 pm, Shotster wrote:
Quote:

for my current needs, I don't need to record at a all. I just need
to apply effects in real time like you can do in GarageBand, Audio
Hijack, etc. This is typically done with a "Play Thru" or "Monitor"
feature.

-Steve

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Lou Kash



Joined: 16 Jul 2008
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 11:12 pm    Post subject: Re: Apply Effects In Real Time? Reply with quote

Shotster wrote:
It's the real-time aspect that is precisely what I want. I want to modify my voice in real time. Recording is not an option for my needs.

When you install the free Developer Tools, there's the AULab. That should probably do what you need.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:55 am    Post subject: Apply Effects In Real Time? Reply with quote

Quote:
It's the real-time aspect that is precisely what I want. I want to
modify my voice in real time. Recording is not an option for my needs.

Choose the relevant effect and hit "Preview" in its window. Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mckinney



Joined: 27 Apr 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It would be better if one could use the standard playback controls as well as looping to audition and/or visualize effects in real time. This is especially useful for effects with a lot of parameters and for educational/visualization purposes. Having to go back and click on the preview button at every iteration can be a nuisance.

I'm not sure how big an internal change this would be for Amadeus, but I have seen this type of playback/effect interaction in other audio editors (eg, Wave Editor).

Thanks!

-Martin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MCal27



Joined: 18 Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Location: Stoke on trent, UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can I second this... The current method of using a preview button is now decidedly retro.. More like Audiosuite in Protools.

Martin please look into this, many other similar software's such as Wave Editor, DSP Quattro and Bias Peak allow easy realtime adding of AU plugins.

For example atm I'm working on mastering a mix in Amadeus and want to drop a mastering dynamics plug across the mix to even out the levels, but the current method means that the preview always starts at the beginning of the track and renders it next to useless Sad

Apart from this Amadeus is near Perfect for what I need...

Al.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:31 pm    Post subject: Apply Effects In Real Time? Reply with quote

Quote:
Martin please look into this, many other similar software's such as Wave Editor, DSP Quattro and Bias Peak allow easy realtime adding of AU plugins.

Amadeus Pro 2.x does too, please have a look at the latest version. Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
MCal27



Joined: 18 Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Location: Stoke on trent, UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe I'm running it Martin.. From the Macappstore? I couldn't find a way beyond using the preview button.. sorry If I'm missing something.. Only had the app since lastnight after a 'shootout' against two similar apps..which yours won easily Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MCal27



Joined: 18 Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Location: Stoke on trent, UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aha!!! Found it.... little cog top right of track..perfect!!! Thanks Smile

Al.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group