Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

when will Amadeus Pro allow single track editing?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
michaelmcgennan



Joined: 05 Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 11:40 pm    Post subject: when will Amadeus Pro allow single track editing? Reply with quote

I've used Amadeus 11 for years, and the editing option it offered that was superior to any variation on it supplied by every other Mac audio-editing program out there, was the ability to deal with left and right channels in stereo files completely separately.

This capability is not available in Amadeus Pro. Will it ever be?

Regards, Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sjakob



Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you not just use the "Split Tracks" command to split the stereo track into two mono tracks?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
michaelmcgennan



Joined: 05 Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 7:42 am    Post subject: when will Amadeus Pro allow single track editing? Reply with quote

Hi. The "split" command does work... to split the tracks, but any edit still applies to both, it seems.

Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ron Fleckner



Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 41
Location: Melbourne Australia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 8:08 am    Post subject: when will Amadeus Pro allow single track editing? Reply with quote

On 06/10/2008, at 10:41 AM, michaelmcgennan wrote:

Quote:
I've used Amadeus 11 for years, and the editing option it offered
that was superior to any variation on it supplied by every other Mac
audio-editing program out there, was the ability to deal with left
and right channels in stereo files completely separately.

This capability is not available in Amadeus Pro. Will it ever be?

Regards, Michael

Ah, the good news is that you CAN edit left and right channels
separately. At least I can with no problem. I works the same as it
did/does on Amadeus II: move your cursor into the lower/upper half of
the channel's waveform, and the cursor gets a 'R' or 'L' attached to
it to indicate that selection will only be on that channel. Give it a
try.

Ron
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
michaelmcgennan



Joined: 05 Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:13 am    Post subject: when will Amadeus Pro allow single track editing? Reply with quote

Ron, hi. Yes, that procedure does work. To be more specific in my single-track editing pursuit, in Amadeus 11 I could generate silence at the beginning of one track, which pushed the start of the track along by the duration of the generated silence, but left the other track unshifted.

In Amadeus Pro, I might use the single-track cursor 'trick' to select only the Right channel, for example, but when I use the Effect "Generate Silence", the introduced silence is in both tracks.

So, crude Cut, Paste editing can be achieved, but so far I have failed in achieving the effect I am after.

Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:26 am    Post subject: when will Amadeus Pro allow single track editing? Reply with quote

Quote:
Ron, hi. Yes, that procedure does work. To be more specific in my
single-track editing pursuit, in Amadeus 11 I could generate silence
at the beginning of one track, which pushed the start of the track
along by the duration of the generated silence, but left the other
track unshifted.

If first use "Split Track" to turn the stereo track into two mono
tracks and then, when you're done, use "Merge Track" to recombine them
into a single stereo track, you can do any separate edits that you
want, including the insertion of silence in one track only. Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Ron Fleckner



Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 41
Location: Melbourne Australia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 12:29 pm    Post subject: when will Amadeus Pro allow single track editing? Reply with quote

Ok, I see. Seems like the best current solution is to do as Martin
suggests.


On 06/10/2008, at 10:13 PM, michaelmcgennan wrote:

Quote:
Ron, hi. Yes, that procedure does work. To be more specific in my
single-track editing pursuit, in Amadeus 11 I could generate silence
at the beginning of one track, which pushed the start of the track
along by the duration of the generated silence, but left the other
track unshifted.

In Amadeus Pro, I might use the single-track cursor 'trick' to
select only the Right channel, for example, but when I use the
Effect "Generate Silence", the introduced silence is in both tracks.

So, crude Cut, Paste editing can be achieved, but so far I have
failed in achieving the effect I am after.

Michael




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
michaelmcgennan



Joined: 05 Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 9:46 pm    Post subject: when will Amadeus Pro allow single track editing? Reply with quote

My thanks to Ron, and to Martin, for laying out the trail to achieve in Amadeus Pro what I used to be able to do in Amadeus 11, using the method as posted by Martin above.

Many thanks, Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xgman



Joined: 02 Dec 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nevermind. . . . .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group