Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Repairing all cracks and pops

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JR



Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 2:15 pm    Post subject: Repairing all cracks and pops Reply with quote

Is there a way to repair all cracks using Amadeus pro like there is in Amadeus II? If not, is there an automated sequence that can be used (other than the keyboard shortcuts) to speed the process?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ezlxq1949



Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Location: Canberra, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you've got a lot of declicking to do, I strongly suggest that you look at ClickRepair. (Google finds it easily.) It does an amazingly good job at a small price, much better than Martin's interpolator (sorry Martin) and much better than Izotope's RX. ClickRepair can repair hundreds of clicks in much less than real time.

And no, I have no connection with ClickRepair except as a very pleased user.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lou Kash



Joined: 16 Jul 2008
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2009 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can only second the recommendation of ClickRepair. It has its quirks and the interface is a bit, well, strange, but the results are great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dnr16



Joined: 05 Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll add my voice to the recommendations for ClickRepair. I'm transferring classical 78s to CD and Martin's Repair Centre just didn't give me enough sensitivity (sorry Martin - it took me an hour of manual removal to clean up 2 secs of 78 crackle even after I'd been through at maximum sensitivity) - came onto this forum to ask if there was a way to tweak Repair Centre, and found this thread.

My internal jury is still out on the sister software to ClickRepair, i.e. DeNoise. ClickRepair seemed fairly foolproof at default settings but DeNoise gave me a lot of signal distortion - probably needs more trial and error on my part.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lou Kash



Joined: 16 Jul 2008
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dnr16 wrote:
but DeNoise gave me a lot of signal distortion - probably needs more trial and error on my part.

DeNoise is just as good as CR, but you can't expect wonders. Its manual describes the dilemma on page 33: it's always a compromise of reducing the noise level vs. affecting the actual sound.

The best way is to sample the noise (i.e. when recording, you leave a few seconds of plain noise at the beginning of the recording), then you "abort" and restart the denoise process while keeping the previously sampled setting. You can then fine tweak and repeatedly abort/restart until you're satisfied. Then you can process the whole file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group