Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Burn to Audio CD... not burning properly

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ron Fleckner



Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 41
Location: Melbourne Australia

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 2:26 am    Post subject: Burn to Audio CD... not burning properly Reply with quote

Hi,

Since upgrading to version 1.4, when I burn a recorded vinyl record to
CD via the Sound menu in Amadeus, the last track gets rendered as 6
seconds of silence. This has happened twice, so I don't think it's
anything I'm doing 'wrong'.

I've been doing this (digitising vinyl with Amadeus) for the past
couple of months and this is the first time this has occurred.
Looking at the CD in the Finder indeed shows that the file is only 1
megabyte in size rather than the expected 30 to 35 megs.

I only noticed it each time after importing the tracks into iTunes and
I thought that iTunes might be the culprit, but it's the CD's
themselves which are crook. Copying the suspect track from the CD and
opening in Amadeus reveals a flat line six seconds long.

Anyone else doing this and have experienced the same phenomenon?

Ron


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sonic Purity



Joined: 10 Nov 2007
Posts: 82
Location: Pasadena, California, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 5:45 am    Post subject: Re: Burn to Audio CD... not burning properly Reply with quote

Ron Fleckner wrote:
Since upgrading to version 1.4, when I burn a recorded vinyl record to
CD via the Sound menu in Amadeus, the last track gets rendered as 6
seconds of silence. This has happened twice, so I don't think it's
anything I'm doing 'wrong'.
[...]

Anyone else doing this and have experienced the same phenomenon?


This sort of thing happened to me with an earlier iteration of the AP 1.4 beta: first track missing, actual second track was first on AP CD, etc. until the last track, which had the 6 sec. silence. That was all fixed with the last, or one of the last, betas i tested.

Unfortunately i have not had time to check the release version, and will not for several more days. Luckily with all the other reports here, that should not be delaying a fix. It just would have been nice since i could use the same test files as before to see if anything changed between the 1.4 beta i tried and the 1.4 release.

I'm guessing that the greater the number of detailed, accurate bug reports from those of us using the CD burning function, the sooner and better the fix will be. I'll re-test anyway when i can, even if it seems fixed.
_________________
))Sonic((
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 5:59 am    Post subject: Burn to Audio CD... not burning properly Reply with quote

Quote:
Unfortunately i have not had time to check the release version

Hmmm.... I might of course have overlooked something, but from that
point of view the release version should be identical to the last beta
you tested...

To Ron: could you send me a screenshot that shows the exact settings
of the CD burning dialog that you used? Thanks,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
GregDunn



Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 3:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aha! I'm not hallucinating, then. I just had the same exact thing happen to me; the first two tracks of a 3-track CD burned fine, and the last track was 6 seconds of silence. I was able to replicate the error just a few minutes ago, so it's repeatable on my machine at least.

As a test for my car CD player, I actually entered some CD-TEXT info (it wasn't able to read it, which may be the player's fault); other than that, all I did was make sure "consider all markers" and gap time = 0 sec. were set.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ron Fleckner



Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 41
Location: Melbourne Australia

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 6:26 am    Post subject: Burn to Audio CD... not burning properly Reply with quote

On 28/02/2009, at 2:23 PM, GregDunn wrote:

Quote:
Aha! I'm not hallucinating, then. I just had the same exact thing
happen to me; the first two tracks of a 3-track CD burned fine, and
the last track was 6 seconds of silence. I was able to replicate
the error just a few minutes ago, so it's repeatable on my machine
at least.

As a test for my car CD player, I actually entered some CD-TEXT info
(it wasn't able to read it, which may be the player's fault); other
than that, all I did was make sure "consider all markers" and gap
time = 0 sec. were set.


Yep, they were my settings, too.

For the record, and because it might help Martin, my machine is G4
Dual 1.25Ghz with 1 Gig of ram, running the latest Leopard.

Thanks to Leopard's Time Machine, I was easily able to restore version
1.3.3 of Amadeus Pro which burns CDs without this strange behaviour.

Ron

_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pbuch



Joined: 12 Nov 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 6:34 am    Post subject: Burn to Audio CD... not burning properly Reply with quote

Same things been happening to me when I burn directly from AP. Files
"split" properly however and then I been able to burn with iTunes.

pb

Cantor Paul A. Buch
Temple Beth Israel
3033 N. Towne Ave.
Pomona, CA 91767
909-626-1277 office
909-575-7858 cell NEW
cantor@tbipomona.org
AIM- pbuchLA





_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Ron Fleckner



Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 41
Location: Melbourne Australia

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 7:01 am    Post subject: Burn to Audio CD... not burning properly Reply with quote

On 28/02/2009, at 5:34 PM, Paul Buch wrote:

Quote:
Same things been happening to me when I burn directly from AP.
Files "split" properly however and then I been able to burn with
iTunes.

pb


Yeah I know that's a workaround. But, what I really like about
burning a digitized record to disc directly from Amadeus is that once
the disc is finished, it mounts and then iTunes starts up, checks CDDB
for the names, and, amazingly, gets them. Then I don't have to enter
all that info into iTunes.

Ron
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 9:39 pm    Post subject: Burn to Audio CD... not burning properly Reply with quote

OK, the version at <http://www.hairersoft.com/Downloads/
AmadeusPro.zip> fixes that problem. If you don't want to bother
downloading it, one workaround is to simply add one last marker at the
very end of the document.

Please let me know if this still doesn't work as expected. Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Ron Fleckner



Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 41
Location: Melbourne Australia

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 4:38 am    Post subject: Burn to Audio CD... not burning properly Reply with quote

On 02/03/2009, at 8:39 AM, Martin Hairer wrote:

Quote:
OK, the version at <http://www.hairersoft.com/Downloads/
AmadeusPro.zip> fixes that problem. If you don't want to bother
downloading it, one workaround is to simply add one last marker at
the very end of the document.

Please let me know if this still doesn't work as expected. Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


Works perfectly. Thanks Martin. I appreciate your promptness. Hope
it wasn't too much of a bother.

Ron
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregDunn



Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 6:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, thanks very much for the quick fix! Still the best audio program in my box of tools.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tristan



Joined: 13 Oct 2007
Posts: 30
Location: location, location

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the fix. I had just been about to write in to report the same bug.

Tristan Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
clove23



Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very Happy Was getting ready to send you an email about this bug, when I remembered the forum. Same problem here, last track is :06 sec of silence, whether there is audio or not. I too just placed another marker at the end, but it took several burns to discover that the marker cannot be at the very very end, or you will burn less tracks than you have. So, say you had 4 songs, you place 5 markers, and end up with only 3 tracks on the CD. Will try the new download or go back to 1.3.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gavin



Joined: 11 Apr 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all,

Wondering if this issue has been fixed yet.

I've just burned two coasters with that six seconds of silence as the last track.
A third coaster was created using a marker near the end, but not the very end as suggested by clove23 above, so I'm scratching my head a little now.

The link to the fixed version, as per Martins post above, appears to be dead?

Here's a clipping of the CD burning dialog:
http://img19.imageshack.us/img19/6205/cdburndialogue.jpg

Here's what I'm using:
Intel iMac 24" 2.8GHz, 4Gb RAM, OSX 10.4.11, Amadeus Pro, ver 1.4

Any update on the situation would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance and cheers,
Gavin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gavin



Joined: 11 Apr 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gavin wrote:
The link to the fixed version, as per Martins post above, appears to be dead?

Apologies . . . my mistake . . I didn't see the space in Martins link. Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group