Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Feature Request - editing

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GregDunn



Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:10 pm    Post subject: Feature Request - editing Reply with quote

Actually, I suppose it's possible I missed this feature somewhere, but it's not mentioned in the manual or anywhere evident in the menus.

The only thing missing from APro as far as I can tell is a way to edit individual samples. While the repair center is quite useful and fast, inevitably while cleaning up a recording I will encounter a glitch that would benefit from allowing me to "draw" in the proper waveform as I know it should be. Often the repair center will smear out the data as it interpolates, shifting samples from where the "belong". Yes, I know I can select tiny portions of the waveform and interpolate several times to minimize the damage, but that is tedious if I have to do it too many times. So far I've been cleaning up the file in Audacity, but why launch another program?

Anyone else think this could be useful? Coming from PEAK, I find APro has everything I ever need - except for this one thing...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pm@philxmilstein.com



Joined: 12 Nov 2006
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 12:53 am    Post subject: Feature Request - editing Reply with quote

I second you -- coming from Photoshop, it is a feature I've always wished
for in Amadeus.

--Phil M.


GregDunn wrote:

Quote:
Actually, I suppose it's possible I missed this feature somewhere, but it's
not mentioned in the manual or anywhere evident in the menus.

The only thing missing from APro as far as I can tell is a way to edit
individual samples. While the repair center is quite useful and fast,
inevitably while cleaning up a recording I will encounter a glitch that would
benefit from allowing me to "draw" in the proper waveform as I know it should
be. Often the repair center will smear out the data as it interpolates,
shifting samples from where the "belong". Yes, I know I can select tiny
portions of the waveform and interpolate several times to minimize the damage,
but that is tedious if I have to do it too many times. So far I've been
cleaning up the file in Audacity, but why launch another program?

Anyone else think this could be useful? Coming from PEAK, I find APro has
everything I ever need - except for this one thing...




_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at
http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gerard Bik



Joined: 10 Nov 2006
Posts: 353

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 8:09 am    Post subject: Feature Request - editing Reply with quote

Also coming from Photoshop I would certainly use it. But my experience with Photoshop is that one can easily get carried away, zooming in and correcting every little detail, while nothing of this effort remains visible in the end result.
Wouldn't this be true also in audio editing?
In Amadeus I correct minor glitches by selecting and Interpolating them. Works good enough for me.

regards

Quote:
I second you -- coming from Photoshop, it is a feature I've always wished
for in Amadeus.

--Phil M.


GregDunn wrote:

Quote:
Actually, I suppose it's possible I missed this feature somewhere, but it's
not mentioned in the manual or anywhere evident in the menus.

The only thing missing from APro as far as I can tell is a way to edit
individual samples. While the repair center is quite useful and fast,
inevitably while cleaning up a recording I will encounter a glitch that would
benefit from allowing me to "draw" in the proper waveform as I know it should
be. Often the repair center will smear out the data as it interpolates,
shifting samples from where the "belong". Yes, I know I can select tiny
portions of the waveform and interpolate several times to minimize the damage,
but that is tedious if I have to do it too many times. So far I've been
cleaning up the file in Audacity, but why launch another program?

Anyone else think this could be useful? Coming from PEAK, I find APro has
everything I ever need - except for this one thing...




--
______________________ _
Gerard Bik grafische vormgeving
Van Aerssenstraat 263
2582 JM Den Haag
070 3554081
_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregDunn



Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For most people and situations, it's probably overkill. Any tool can be mis-used. But it would be handy to have the option.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lou Kash



Joined: 16 Jul 2008
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm slowly migrating from TC Spark (its development has been stopped years ago and it likely won't run properly on an Intel anymore) and its Pencil Tool is exactly what I'm desperately missing. Sometimes it's the fastest way to repair obvious sound defects quickly and painlessly. (And sometimes it's not. The more you use a tool like this, the more you learn when there is an appropriate moment to use it...)

So... a Pencil Tool is definitely on the top of my feature request list for Amadeus. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1612

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 9:17 pm    Post subject: Feature Request - editing Reply with quote

Quote:
So... a Pencil Tool is definitely on the top of my feature request
list for Amadeus. Smile

Have you tried to use the "Interpolate" function? In many cases, it
would repair a small defect much better and quicker than you could do
with a pencil tool. Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Lou Kash



Joined: 16 Jul 2008
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 9:44 am    Post subject: Re: Feature Request - editing Reply with quote

Martin Hairer wrote:
Have you tried to use the "Interpolate" function? In many cases, it would repair a small defect much better and quicker than you could do with a pencil tool.

Of course I did... :)
Sometimes it's good, sometimes I'd prefer to have a pencil handy.
(Most of the times however - especially when digitalizing worn records - ClickRepair is the best. By the way, I've asked Brian Davis if he has any plans to release CR as an AU plugin. To put it diplomatically: the answer wasn't "no".)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Guntis



Joined: 21 Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Location: Latvia

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 2:02 pm    Post subject: Pencil tool and automatic Extend to Crossing selection Reply with quote

I also second Pencil tool. In some cases it's very useful. I can make waveform exactly as I need it to be.
Another feature request - Selection menu > "Extend to Crossing" could be an option in the preferences. I'd like to have it always on. Otherwise I have to remember to press Option+Command+X shortcut every time I make any selection. Soon it becomes boring.
_________________
PC is consumer stuff for me. Like a coffee machine - it does itís job. But Mac - Mac is love, itís like a Porsche - style, design and feeling of well spent money.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group