Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Version 1.2.1 way slower than previous

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ktappe



Joined: 18 Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Location: Wilmington, DE

PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:23 pm    Post subject: Version 1.2.1 way slower than previous Reply with quote

Since downloading the 1.2.1 update, I'm finding tasks take nearly twice as long to complete. Is anyone else seeing a similar slowdown?

I also tried using the new pause feature but it didn't really pause--the GUI claimed it had but the task continued in the background (as proven by the 'top' utility) and eventually it completed and the GUI updated to show it had finished.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:23 pm    Post subject: Version 1.2.1 way slower than previous Reply with quote

Quote:
Since downloading the 1.2.1 update, I'm finding tasks take nearly
twice as long to complete. Is anyone else seeing a similar slowdown?

I also tried using the new pause feature but it didn't really pause--
the GUI claimed it had but the task continued in the background (as
proven by the 'top' utility) and eventually it completed and the GUI
updated to show it had finished.

I couldn't reproduce this. Which task were you unable to pause?
Regards,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jeemz



Joined: 20 Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Location: Northern California

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 10:30 pm    Post subject: Re: Version 1.2.1 way slower than previous Reply with quote

[quote="ktappe"]Since downloading the 1.2.1 update, I'm finding tasks take nearly twice as long to complete. Is anyone else seeing a similar slowdown?

I find that the update is a tad faster than the previous Pro. I'm doing a simple conversion from mono .WAV to .MP3.

Jim
narrations@mac.com
_________________
Jim
narrations@mac.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ktappe



Joined: 18 Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Location: Wilmington, DE

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 5:43 pm    Post subject: Re: Version 1.2.1 way slower than previous Reply with quote

Martin Hairer wrote:
Quote:
I also tried using the new pause feature but it didn't really pause--
the GUI claimed it had but the task continued in the background (as
proven by the 'top' utility) and eventually it completed and the GUI
updated to show it had finished.

I couldn't reproduce this. Which task were you unable to pause?


Importing an MP3. (Admittedly a large MP3; 200Mb, 4 hours of audio). I clicked the pause button halfway thru the import. The GUI said it was paused but the CPU monitor on my MacBook Pro indicated otherwise, so I checked top. It said process "mpg123" was the primary task.

This isn't a big deal--I'll rarely want to pause an import. Just thought you'd want to know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1615

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:59 pm    Post subject: Version 1.2.1 way slower than previous Reply with quote

Quote:
Importing an MP3. (Admittedly a large MP3; 200Mb, 4 hours of
audio). I clicked the pause button halfway thru the import. The
GUI said it was paused but the CPU monitor on my MacBook Pro
indicated otherwise, so I checked top. It said process "mpg123" was
the primary task.

You are right, the pausing doesn't seem to work for that because the
task runs in a separate process. Saving to Mp3 would probably show a
similar bug. I'll see if I can find a workaround, otherwise I might
just end up disabling the "pause" function for these two tasks...
Thanks,

Martin

HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/


_______________________________________________
Amadeus forum mailing list
Unsubscribe / change settings at http://two.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/forum_list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group