Mailing ListMailing List   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Poor Audio Quality

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stellar808



Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:45 pm    Post subject: Poor Audio Quality Reply with quote

In a recent upgrade, the waveforms appear to have more resolution. Some days ago, I ran a system optimizer to delete old system caches and while I've not noticed any problems anywhere else, Amadeus Pro 2.4.2 now displays the wave form the "more coarse" way it did before the update and the sound is noticeably different.

I have the Inputs and Outputs set correctly, same as my DAW but the sound is "boxy" out of Amadeus. The file sounds fine at the system level when played from the Finder but a reduction quality in Amadeus Pro. File sample rate is 44.1kHz. AIFF uncompressed.

I've tried reinstalling the application with no difference. Restart. No difference.
[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1613

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 10:37 am    Post subject: Poor Audio Quality Reply with quote

Quote:
In a recent upgrade, the waveforms appear to have more resolution. Some days ago, I ran a system optimizer to delete old system caches and while I've not noticed any problems anywhere else, Amadeus Pro 2.4.2 now displays the wave form the "more coarse" way it did before the update and the sound is noticeably different.

The "new" waveform display uses Metal and is much smoother than the "old" display. By default, Amadeus tries to use Metal, but if it fails for some reason, then it falls back onto the old display engine. Reasons for Metal to fail loading include running on OS X 10.10 or earlier, running in 32 bit mode, or running on a Mac with an unsupported graphics card (typically models from before about 2012). Some recent versions of OS X also have a bug which occasionally causes Metal to fail even when all stars seem to otherwise have aligned Wink

In any case, this purely affects the display of the waveform and is completely unrelated to the sound which actually gets sent to the audio card.

It might be that you inadvertently changed some setting which causes the symptoms you describe (although I can't really see what it could be). To get back to factory settings, you can trash the preferences file located in ~/Library/Preferences/com.HairerSoft.AmadeusPro.plist. Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Martin Hairer
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 1613

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 1:35 pm    Post subject: Poor Audio Quality Reply with quote

PS: You can check whether Metal is being used by hitting '0'.

PPS: If you are using the App Store version, then you cannot reset
to factory defaults by the method described above. Please use instead
the version at <http://www.hairersoft.com/Downloads/AmadeusPro.zip>.

Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
stellar808



Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 5:10 pm    Post subject: Re: Poor Audio Quality Reply with quote

Martin Hairer wrote:
Quote:
In a recent upgrade, the waveforms appear to have more resolution. Some days ago, I ran a system optimizer to delete old system caches and while I've not noticed any problems anywhere else, Amadeus Pro 2.4.2 now displays the wave form the "more coarse" way it did before the update and the sound is noticeably different.

The "new" waveform display uses Metal and is much smoother than the "old" display. By default, Amadeus tries to use Metal, but if it fails for some reason, then it falls back onto the old display engine. Reasons for Metal to fail loading include running on OS X 10.10 or earlier, running in 32 bit mode, or running on a Mac with an unsupported graphics card (typically models from before about 2012). Some recent versions of OS X also have a bug which occasionally causes Metal to fail even when all stars seem to otherwise have aligned Wink

In any case, this purely affects the display of the waveform and is completely unrelated to the sound which actually gets sent to the audio card.

It might be that you inadvertently changed some setting which causes the symptoms you describe (although I can't really see what it could be). To get back to factory settings, you can trash the preferences file located in ~/Library/Preferences/com.HairerSoft.AmadeusPro.plist. Regards,

Martin

--
HairerSoft
http://www.hairersoft.com/



That worked splendidly. Ditching Prefs was a first reaction but I need to do something to get the old and new Set# in the same place for easy reference. Wonder if my plug in setting were reset to default? Anyway - the sound is back to normal and it could have been my panic button regarding he appearance. Thank you so much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ontiveros



Joined: 11 Oct 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This worked like a charm. I've had the same issue and must have messed with the wrong settings. Thanks Martin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.hairersoft.com Forum Index -> Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group